Author Topic: Reggie World ( Pandora , PC )  (Read 52191 times)

Offline erico

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 4310
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: 3D RPG Engine for Pandora
« Reply #45 on: 2015-Mar-25 »
Baked scenes greatly improve the looks of the 3d, complex wise.
You have occlusion, fractal surfaces, many filters/shaders, etc all in for free.
But, without a visual style, they look pretty but empty.

Offline nabz32

  • Community Developer
  • Dr. Type
  • ******
  • Posts: 311
    • View Profile
Re: 3D RPG Engine for Pandora
« Reply #46 on: 2015-Apr-08 »
This way I would need to create a different texture for every wall / plain.
This thing still has to run on the Pandora 8)

Anyhow the beta version for Pandora is available, just PN if you want to give it a go.

Offline erico

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 4310
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: 3D RPG Engine for Pandora
« Reply #47 on: 2015-Apr-08 »
You are right about extra textures.
But you could also do it like minecraft just to get the oclusion effect, not that it is really needed.

About the pandora version, what about a caanoo version (320x240). Do you think that is possible?

Offline nabz32

  • Community Developer
  • Dr. Type
  • ******
  • Posts: 311
    • View Profile
Re: 3D RPG Engine for Pandora
« Reply #48 on: 2015-Apr-08 »
still have to get the testing results on a rebirth and classic Pandora.

The resolution change should be no problem,
but I don´t know what the cannoo can
do 3D wise yet.
Just owned a WIZ a long time ago, which had similar specs, can you compare it to the caanoo?

I think it would be possible should GL ES 1.1 be enough to handle the game.
There are changes needed though:

The Drawsize ( number of tiles drawn at the same time ) has to be decreased,
this could be compensated by increasing the size of each tile
and Increase the overall object scaling accordingly.
Maybe also getting rid of the "fog" can help to increase the performance.

These values can easily be edited in the source code ( and to some extend in the release version using the option menue ),
but changes like detail reducing on objects themselfs would take a while.

But first of all I need a Caanoo to test it or someone with a Caanoo that can test it for me.

Offline erico

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 4310
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: 3D RPG Engine for Pandora
« Reply #49 on: 2015-Apr-08 »
I don´t believe you would need to downgrade the game to run on the caanoo, just the resolution to 320x240 should be enough.
It is quite a strong machine. Controls should also be similar.

If you are interesting in giving that a shot, I own a caanoo and can test for you. :good:

Offline Ian Price

  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 4158
  • On the shoulders of giants.
    • View Profile
    • My Apps
Re: 3D RPG Engine for Pandora
« Reply #50 on: 2015-Apr-08 »
I have a Caanoo and a Classic Pandora and a day off on Friday... :D
I came. I saw. I played.

Offline nabz32

  • Community Developer
  • Dr. Type
  • ******
  • Posts: 311
    • View Profile
Re: 3D RPG Engine for Pandora
« Reply #51 on: 2015-Apr-09 »
I am currently in the process to make every sprite on screen position and scale
correctly according to the screensize values ( have the main interface fixed allready, menue and inventory will follow ).
I cant make use of GL Light attenuation on the Caanoo, because GLBasic won´t compile for android as long
as that inline section is there ( after commenting this part out everything compiles like normal ).

Is the WIZ that different from a Caanoo that I can´t compile for it?
I thought back then, that the Caanoo just had a larger screen and more RAM than the WIZ.

Offline Ian Price

  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 4158
  • On the shoulders of giants.
    • View Profile
    • My Apps
Re: 3D RPG Engine for Pandora
« Reply #52 on: 2015-Apr-09 »
In practicality the Wiz and Caanoo are virtually identical. If you're considering the Wiz, why not go the whole hog and include the GP2X? I really wouldn't spend too much time on those systems though tbh as they and the forums supporting them are pretty much dead. If they compile and work then fine, if not don't waste your valuable time.

BTW I have a Wiz and 2xGP2X (F100 and F200) too.
I came. I saw. I played.

Offline erico

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 4310
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: 3D RPG Engine for Pandora
« Reply #53 on: 2015-Apr-09 »
I agree with Ian.

Offline nabz32

  • Community Developer
  • Dr. Type
  • ******
  • Posts: 311
    • View Profile
Re: 3D RPG Engine for Pandora
« Reply #54 on: 2015-Apr-09 »
I get a direct Crash when running on the WIZ,
it wont even do the simple intro, where only few 2D media is loaded.
The only thing done before the intro is the declaration of the Constants and Globals.
Some Arrays are pretty big,
maybe out of memory perhaps?

Offline Ian Price

  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 4158
  • On the shoulders of giants.
    • View Profile
    • My Apps
Re: 3D RPG Engine for Pandora
« Reply #55 on: 2015-Apr-09 »
Quote
Some Arrays are pretty big,
maybe out of memory perhaps?
Possible, but they'd have to be very big. I've never had a crash on the Wiz due to array size. Are you sure it's not trying to load data? That would be my first bet - it can't access .sav data or something smilar.
I came. I saw. I played.

Offline nabz32

  • Community Developer
  • Dr. Type
  • ******
  • Posts: 311
    • View Profile
Re: 3D RPG Engine for Pandora
« Reply #56 on: 2015-Apr-09 »
good call Ian,  :nw:
I completly forgot to create the WIZ Key config first of all... :O


Offline nabz32

  • Community Developer
  • Dr. Type
  • ******
  • Posts: 311
    • View Profile
Re: 3D RPG Engine for Pandora
« Reply #57 on: 2015-Jun-28 »
I had a post here mentioning the new stuff I had added to the
engine.

But it had fallen victim of a Forum Server crash.

Since someone was asking about updates on the german boards,
I made a short video of new stuff that is in Reggie World now.
It only consists of short clips chained together.



And here is a picture of a new level, I finished the tileset for yesterday:




Offline Paul Smith

  • Mr. Polyvector
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
Re: 3D RPG Engine for Pandora
« Reply #58 on: 2015-Jun-28 »
Totally Amazing, I wish I had the  skills knowledge and time to code as good as this. Reminded me of final fantasy 7.
Amstrad CPC 6128, ATARI STE.
Acer  SW5-173 & AMD FX 8350/1050Ti

Offline Ian Price

  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 4158
  • On the shoulders of giants.
    • View Profile
    • My Apps
Re: 3D RPG Engine for Pandora
« Reply #59 on: 2015-Jun-28 »
Quote
I wish I had the  skills knowledge and time to code as good as this
Indeed :)
I came. I saw. I played.