Author Topic: New to Mac...  (Read 6306 times)

Offline ampos

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1600
    • View Profile
    • AMpostata Website
New to Mac...
« on: 2010-Sep-22 »
I have just bought my very first Mac, with the sole idea of using it to compile for iPhone, a MacBook with Os 10.6.4

My Mac has come with... nothing. A plain Mac.

So I think it would be a very good idea to use my experience as a guide for users with the same situation.

I plan to ask you about what to do, and write a FAQ/Guide with my experiences.

So, the very first.

What should I download or do first?


PD: I just configurated it for accesing a remote directory, and Remote Desktop, to manage it from the PC, so not to have both computers at the same time on the desk. Dont know if this will be ok to be included...

SETPS I HAVE MADE

-Visit http://developers.apple.com and register as "Apple Developer". It is free.

-Download "Xcode 3.2.4 and iOS SDK 4.1"

-Join the iOS developer programl. The thing that cost $99 per year. Yeah.
« Last Edit: 2010-Sep-24 by ampos »
check my web and/or my blog :D
http://diniplay.blogspot.com (devblog)
http://www.ampostata.org
http://ampostata.blogspot.com
I own PC-Win, MacBook 13", iPhone 3G/3GS/4G and iPAC-WinCE

MrTAToad

  • Guest
Re: New to Mac...
« Reply #1 on: 2010-Sep-22 »
What OS are you using.  Is it an Intel processor Mac ?

If so, pop along to the XCode part of Apple's website and download the appropriate version of XCode (for iPhone development)

Offline kaotiklabs

  • Dr. Type
  • ****
  • Posts: 313
  • Spain is diferent
    • View Profile
Re: New to Mac...
« Reply #2 on: 2010-Sep-22 »
remember also to buy the license :P
Vote Cthulhu! Because the stars are right!!!!
Ia Ia Cthulhu F' tang!

Offline ampos

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1600
    • View Profile
    • AMpostata Website
Re: New to Mac...
« Reply #3 on: 2010-Sep-22 »
Ok, I downloaded and Installed XCode for iOS.

What's next? compile a proyect on GLB and try to compile it on Mac?

Remember I have not a license, so I will try to compile without it and sent to a jailbreaked iphone. Just for testing.  :D

Where are supossed to be copied the files generated in GLB?
check my web and/or my blog :D
http://diniplay.blogspot.com (devblog)
http://www.ampostata.org
http://ampostata.blogspot.com
I own PC-Win, MacBook 13", iPhone 3G/3GS/4G and iPAC-WinCE

Offline Kitty Hello

  • code monkey
  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 10762
  • here on my island the sea says 'hello'
    • View Profile
    • http://www.glbasic.com
Re: New to Mac...
« Reply #4 on: 2010-Sep-22 »
compile for iPhone and read what it says.

MrTAToad

  • Guest
Re: New to Mac...
« Reply #5 on: 2010-Sep-22 »
You need to be an iPhone developer, have a provisioning license and setup your iPhone in order to successfully compile for the iPhone

Offline ampos

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1600
    • View Profile
    • AMpostata Website
Re: New to Mac...
« Reply #6 on: 2010-Sep-24 »
Ok, I have bought the $99 thing from Apple.

Next step?

The thing about keychains and so? Where are they? How do I set them?

Any idea about what to read in the TON of docs Apple has in his site?
check my web and/or my blog :D
http://diniplay.blogspot.com (devblog)
http://www.ampostata.org
http://ampostata.blogspot.com
I own PC-Win, MacBook 13", iPhone 3G/3GS/4G and iPAC-WinCE

Offline Ian Price

  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 4160
  • On the shoulders of giants.
    • View Profile
    • My Apps
Re: New to Mac...
« Reply #7 on: 2010-Sep-24 »
PM me your email addy Ampos - I can help you with a fool-proof guide (that I actually paid for). Should see you right in no time :)

Also, once you've got the certification process sussed, you might have a problem with XCode stating the Base SDK is missing - this is a very simple process to sort out -

Make sure that you have the most upto date OS for you iPod and the latest XCode - this is a huge 2Gb download from Apple. Grab it and then install. Then go and make a cup of tea while it does it's stuff. Have dinner too. ;) :P

Once XCode is installed -
Go to Project > Edit Active Target "iPhone" > Base SDK and set IOS Device  to your current OS number (It'll probably show "3.xx Missing") - changed mine to 4.1 (the current update for iPod Touch). Exit then click where it says Base SDK Missing and click on Release. This works everytime for me.
:)
I came. I saw. I played.

Offline ampos

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1600
    • View Profile
    • AMpostata Website
Re: New to Mac...
« Reply #8 on: 2010-Sep-27 »
PM me your email addy Ampos - I can help you with a fool-proof guide (that I actually paid for). Should see you right in no time :)

Also, once you've got the certification process sussed, you might have a problem with XCode stating the Base SDK is missing - this is a very simple process to sort out -

Make sure that you have the most upto date OS for you iPod and the latest XCode - this is a huge 2Gb download from Apple. Grab it and then install. Then go and make a cup of tea while it does it's stuff. Have dinner too. ;) :P

Once XCode is installed -
Go to Project > Edit Active Target "iPhone" > Base SDK and set IOS Device  to your current OS number (It'll probably show "3.xx Missing") - changed mine to 4.1 (the current update for iPod Touch). Exit then click where it says Base SDK Missing and click on Release. This works everytime for me.
:)

LOL!!!

THIS IS HELL!!!

Even folowing this "guide for morons" it is a hard time. No way I am unable to make such guide. I am on final steps, hope to have something working on my iPhone...
check my web and/or my blog :D
http://diniplay.blogspot.com (devblog)
http://www.ampostata.org
http://ampostata.blogspot.com
I own PC-Win, MacBook 13", iPhone 3G/3GS/4G and iPAC-WinCE

Offline Ian Price

  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 4160
  • On the shoulders of giants.
    • View Profile
    • My Apps
Re: New to Mac...
« Reply #9 on: 2010-Sep-27 »
Apple have truly made it as difficult for users as possible, haven't they. :(

Once it's all set up properly it's pretty simple to test your code on a real device. Just remember to follow my guide every time you want to test. It's bloody annoying that XCode doesn't remember your settings though.
I came. I saw. I played.

Offline ampos

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1600
    • View Profile
    • AMpostata Website
Re: New to Mac...
« Reply #10 on: 2010-Sep-27 »
Last nite at 3:00 am I give up, even after following your guide. I got the same error you got before buying the guide, on the other msg.

Tonite I will try again, and if no luck, I will ask for some help by remote desktop to one of you, guys   :noggin:

check my web and/or my blog :D
http://diniplay.blogspot.com (devblog)
http://www.ampostata.org
http://ampostata.blogspot.com
I own PC-Win, MacBook 13", iPhone 3G/3GS/4G and iPAC-WinCE

Offline ampos

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1600
    • View Profile
    • AMpostata Website
Re: New to Mac...
« Reply #11 on: 2010-Sep-27 »
I give up. I got the same error as Ian on his previous msg: http://www.glbasic.com/forum/index.php?topic=4970.0

Can someone help me using Remote Desktop? Add me to messenger, please.
check my web and/or my blog :D
http://diniplay.blogspot.com (devblog)
http://www.ampostata.org
http://ampostata.blogspot.com
I own PC-Win, MacBook 13", iPhone 3G/3GS/4G and iPAC-WinCE

Offline Ian Price

  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 4160
  • On the shoulders of giants.
    • View Profile
    • My Apps
Re: New to Mac...
« Reply #12 on: 2010-Sep-27 »
Ampos - what I did was start everything all over from scratch. Delete ALL developer profiles and keychains from the Mac (in XCode), Apple Dev Centre AND your iPhod (iPod/iPhone). Place any old .cert stuff in the trash and empty it away. When you go through the process in the ADC, make sure you have both certificates  - Development and Distribution. The Apple route seems to only cater for the Development only. Remember to delete both (if they are there) when cleaning out the trash.

Make sure that your profile in XCode is clear, that your device is not listed and that all keychains are removed (that are associated with your developer license). Also make sure you've downloaded the latest version of XCode.

Then start the process all over again, going through the guide one step at a time. The Apple tutorials actually show one step that's actually further ahead/different than it really is, but the .PDF guide tells you it as it really is. Even Apple can't get their system right!
I came. I saw. I played.

Offline ampos

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1600
    • View Profile
    • AMpostata Website
Re: New to Mac...
« Reply #13 on: 2010-Sep-27 »
I am starting again, as my 2nd try I find I made a tipo (Karkout instead of Krakout), but I am not sure about this...
check my web and/or my blog :D
http://diniplay.blogspot.com (devblog)
http://www.ampostata.org
http://ampostata.blogspot.com
I own PC-Win, MacBook 13", iPhone 3G/3GS/4G and iPAC-WinCE

Offline dreamerman

  • Global Moderator
  • Dr. Type
  • *******
  • Posts: 366
    • View Profile
    • my personal website
Re: New to Mac...
« Reply #14 on: 2011-May-26 »
Hi, I have some simple but very important questions, because I don't have any Mac comp and I want to start Iphone development in near future, maybe few weeks or little more - first I need to complete my games :)
So what iOS SDK, Xcode and MacOS versions are currently needed for iPhone\iPad development?
On other similar topics:
http://www.glbasic.com/forum/index.php?topic=5023.0
http://www.glbasic.com/forum/index.php?topic=5109.0
I read that probably Xcode 3.2.5 is necessary, and it requires MacOS 10.6 Snow Leopard - I know that it can be bought for quite small money on some auctions, but will it run without problems even on single core Intel based Mac? Or I need some Dual Core CPU?
I live in Poland, Macintosh computers are much less popular than ibm pc's with Windows (because of price :d), so there are much less auctions with them. Used Mac's are much cheaper, but whether can there be some problems caused by this (license or whatever), as I'll be the next owner - apart from the hardware condition. I don't want to spend much money on modern Mac, therefore such questions.
Thanks for any info.
Check my source code editor for GLBasic - link Update: 20.04.2020