Author Topic: Android - has anyone tried yet?  (Read 7577 times)

Offline MrPlow

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1696
    • View Profile
Re: Android - has anyone tried yet?
« Reply #60 on: 2019-Aug-20 »
If you just see small text on menu then assets didn't load.
Comp:
Speccy-48k, Speccy-128k, Amigas, PCs

Offline spacefractal

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 3899
    • View Profile
    • Space Fractal
Re: Android - has anyone tried yet?
« Reply #61 on: 2019-Aug-20 »
Like like im cannot fix it at all :-( and im so much hate Android Studio as connection with emulators is so unstable like hell (xCode in this case was so much much better). So im dropped them and only have tested on the phone.

Anyway im could get the assest files to loads as intended as seen in logcat, but even they are loaded, they are still not shown at all. Here im cant do anything more with it currectly as im is not sure what its happens.
« Last Edit: 2019-Aug-20 by spacefractal »
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation and The beagle Jam.

Offline MrPlow

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1696
    • View Profile
Re: Android - has anyone tried yet?
« Reply #62 on: 2019-Aug-20 »
No probs - take a break from it :)

I will tinker with my version and see if I can figure anything out...looks to me like a Create "Media" folder is not behaving as it should.
Comp:
Speccy-48k, Speccy-128k, Amigas, PCs

Offline spacefractal

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 3899
    • View Profile
    • Space Fractal
Re: Android - has anyone tried yet?
« Reply #63 on: 2019-Aug-20 »
Not sure its the case as the game loads very fine with all assets files on a Android 9 phone (api 28), on a Android 7 tablet (api 24), but not on the Android 5.0.1 phone with api 21 (app runs still runs).

About the assest loadaing fail im cannot do anything more, hopefully Gernot have a clue. As least you do might can do a gracefull quit.

Also im have do a better ImageLoadJPG code, so its does now checks jpg and JPG extension when LoadImageJPG is invoked, so its dont breaks combatible (im do should have do a ifdef ANDROID throught).
« Last Edit: 2019-Aug-20 by spacefractal »
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation and The beagle Jam.

Offline spacefractal

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 3899
    • View Profile
    • Space Fractal
Re: Android - has anyone tried yet?
« Reply #64 on: 2019-Aug-21 »
There is nothing issue with the jpg as png image load also bork out too! So there must been something with the file system to do why the assets loading not working on Android 5...... So while png diddent crash due that, then jpg do.
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation and The beagle Jam.

Offline MrPlow

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1696
    • View Profile
Re: Android - has anyone tried yet?
« Reply #65 on: 2019-Aug-21 »
Just thought of something - I only have write permission - perhaps API21-22 requires both read and write :)
Write only implies both as of later versions of APIs - or so I think I read.

I will try later with read and write permissions in manifest - maybe asset load will work then?
Comp:
Speccy-48k, Speccy-128k, Amigas, PCs

Offline spacefractal

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 3899
    • View Profile
    • Space Fractal
Re: Android - has anyone tried yet?
« Reply #66 on: 2019-Aug-21 »
Android is just so much strange as hell and confucsion some time. Currectly im have absolute no idea what its up and down with android 5 at all why its suddently happens. No files seens read & write to the folder at all.

This even im routed it to a external directory where im actuelly can see the images got copied over to it as its should on the Android 7 device.

So not sure what happens with Android 5 and might have something combatible breaks with AS throught me thinks.

Me thinks its more a Android Studio bug and google some how have broke combatible, but Android 5 is also quite old as well anyway. So im might even leave Android 5 and require Glbasic projects to use a least api 23 (Android 6), as your game works nice on Android 6.

PS. DONT update to AS 3.5 as this version is incombatible with glbasic steam Android projects (hopefully fixing later).
« Last Edit: 2019-Aug-21 by spacefractal »
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation and The beagle Jam.

Offline MrPlow

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1696
    • View Profile
Re: Android - has anyone tried yet?
« Reply #67 on: 2019-Aug-21 »
Got my Android Studio running quite fast now.

I have 16GB of RAM so I allocated 8GB in VM mem settings to AS and enabled parallel processing and disabled bloaty Plugins.

Running much better now.
Comp:
Speccy-48k, Speccy-128k, Amigas, PCs

Offline spacefractal

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 3899
    • View Profile
    • Space Fractal
Re: Android - has anyone tried yet?
« Reply #68 on: 2019-Aug-21 »
I'm Uninstalled it, but I'm do try again Saturday or Sunday with a complete fresh install and try to get greedy mouse running. But im is totally done with andoid 5. I'm do now only help with api 23 and over. Rest is too old.
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation and The beagle Jam.

Offline MrPlow

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1696
    • View Profile
Re: Android - has anyone tried yet?
« Reply #69 on: 2019-Aug-22 »

Noticed this - might be nothing but it looks strange...

I modified the Media folder to media (lowercase) trying to see if that was the cause...

I noticed before on logcat a double mention of the media folder in a path name

08-22 10:03:14.489 4481-4551/com.gazzappergames.breakerbricksprem I/glbasic: attempting to recursiveCopy asset: Media/media



Comp:
Speccy-48k, Speccy-128k, Amigas, PCs

Offline spacefractal

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 3899
    • View Profile
    • Space Fractal
Re: Android - has anyone tried yet?
« Reply #70 on: 2019-Aug-22 »
Don't worry about the double media path at all and should not call it anyway. will just skip and have nothing to do at all. It's best practical to use Media, not media. The recursive copy should not been happens anyway.
« Last Edit: 2019-Aug-22 by spacefractal »
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation and The beagle Jam.

Offline MrPlow

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1696
    • View Profile
Re: Android - has anyone tried yet?
« Reply #71 on: 2019-Aug-25 »
Hopefully a step further to solving this File Issue for api 22 - 5.x

Updating Studio app settings to API-19

 minSdkVersion 19
 targetSdkVersion 28

 arguments "APP_PLATFORM=android-19"

Then add use function for loading assets similar to old AE methods, like so:
LOADSOUND GETCURRENTDIR$()+File$, ID

So loadsound is now working but something is preventing the same solution from Loading FONTS and SPRITES

So that leads me to believe the underlying code for LOADSOUND is treating assets different than LOADSPRITE.

SF, does this help you to figure out the difference between LOADSOUND and LOADSPRITE / LOADFONT

:)





Comp:
Speccy-48k, Speccy-128k, Amigas, PCs

Offline spacefractal

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 3899
    • View Profile
    • Space Fractal
Re: Android - has anyone tried yet?
« Reply #72 on: 2019-Aug-26 »
It's more the gl file system that not working as excepted.

Now in Android 5, datapath is correct, but fails to load. But now in Android 8, it's still fails to load as datapath set by Java is mismatch and SETCURRENTDIR() simply just don't want to work......


I'm using 3.4.1 and have cleaned up path checking and copy assets code. Etc its does no longer auto setdir to Media folder, unlike the Windows version.

Copy assets seens works on both systems, but assets stills fails to load. Weird.

Due this, I'm have sent a project or your to a gernot to take a look why SETCURRENTDIR() not working when using full path.

Also DOESFILESEXISTS() might also crash too, if c++ file checking is used. But not when only doing using Java.

Datadir is different on andoid 5 and 6+
« Last Edit: 2019-Aug-26 by spacefractal »
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation and The beagle Jam.

Offline MrPlow

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1696
    • View Profile
Re: Android - has anyone tried yet?
« Reply #73 on: 2019-Aug-26 »
I was weird that sound assets were loading for me, but not graphics.
Comp:
Speccy-48k, Speccy-128k, Amigas, PCs

Offline MrPlow

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1696
    • View Profile
Re: Android - has anyone tried yet?
« Reply #74 on: 2019-Aug-26 »
Also, if you need any help or want me to try anything just let me know - I am keen to get this working!
Comp:
Speccy-48k, Speccy-128k, Amigas, PCs