Author Topic: Debug  (Read 187 times)

Offline MrPlow

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1691
    • View Profile
Debug
« on: 2020-Mar-30 »
Hi All,

Is there an easy way to write DEBUG-like output to the immediate window without DEBUG - without the programming needing to be DEBUG mode?
Reason being my Antivirus software does not like the DEBUG mode.

Comp:
Speccy-48k, Speccy-128k, Amigas, PCs

Offline Schranz0r

  • Premium User :)
  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 5055
  • O Rly?
    • View Profile
Re: Debug
« Reply #1 on: 2020-Mar-31 »
You can debug in Window (Print ...) or  create Log-Files.

Another way is to enable the Console and write to it.

Example:
Code: (glbasic) [Select]
OpenConsole()

STDOUT "Hello Console!"

WHILE TRUE



SHOWSCREEN
WEND
END


FUNCTION OpenConsole:
IMPORT void __AllocConsole()
__AllocConsole()
ENDFUNCTION
I <3 DGArray's :D

PC:
AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @3.9GHz, 16GB HyperX Fury 3000MHz Ram, ASUS ROG GTX 1060 STRIX 6GB, Windows 10 Pro 64Bit, MSi Tomahawk B350 Mainboard

Offline MrPlow

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1691
    • View Profile
Re: Debug
« Reply #2 on: 2020-Mar-31 »
Nice - thanks for openconsole method :)

That'll come in very handy
Comp:
Speccy-48k, Speccy-128k, Amigas, PCs

Offline Qedo

  • Mr. Polyvector
  • ***
  • Posts: 233
  • UNUS SED LEO
    • View Profile
Re: Debug
« Reply #3 on: 2020-Mar-31 »
you tried to handle exceptions on your antivirus?

On "Free Avast antivirus" that I use I did it for GlBasic and I solved it (for other reasons)


Offline MrPlow

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1691
    • View Profile
Re: Debug
« Reply #4 on: 2020-Mar-31 »
Bit tricker on the one I use as its freezing / quarantining on the individual app folders for the specific projects...so I have to add exeptions for all my projects ... absolute pain ... not worth the hassle... an easy workaround is better for me.
Comp:
Speccy-48k, Speccy-128k, Amigas, PCs

Offline Qedo

  • Mr. Polyvector
  • ***
  • Posts: 233
  • UNUS SED LEO
    • View Profile
Re: Debug
« Reply #5 on: 2020-Mar-31 »
I added one only exception to the whole folder where all the glbasic projects are located

Offline MrPlow

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1691
    • View Profile
Re: Debug
« Reply #6 on: 2020-Apr-03 »
Yes, I think I can do that too - but my projects are a big part of what I want protection from ransom ware attacks,  etc.
Comp:
Speccy-48k, Speccy-128k, Amigas, PCs

Offline bigsofty

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 2668
    • View Profile
Re: Debug
« Reply #7 on: 2020-Apr-03 »
Changed to ESet Nod32 when I had the problem, a lot less false positive generic reports.
Cheers,

Ian.

“It is practically impossible to teach good programming style to students that have had prior exposure to BASIC.  As potential programmers, they are mentally mutilated beyond hope of regeneration.”
(E. W. Dijkstra)