Author Topic: NETWEBEND issue  (Read 415 times)

Offline MrPlow

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
    • View Profile
NETWEBEND issue
« on: 2020-Mar-07 »
When using and trying to test a web page url if the webpage is unresponsive the commands hangs the program...even with TRY and CATCH - it still hangs...any idea how to get around this?

TRY
NETWEBEND
CATCH

Comp:
Speccy-48k, Speccy-128k, Amigas, PCs

Offline Qedo

  • Dr. Type
  • ****
  • Posts: 271
  • to program what I have todo how should I program?
    • View Profile
Re: NETWEBEND issue
« Reply #1 on: 2020-Mar-08 »
it also crashes with the timeout set?
I tried an old program that read a text file on the web with a url that no longer responds (read the results of a lottery in Italy) and the program comes out normally.
Do you have a link to try?
Ciao

Offline spacefractal

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 3929
    • View Profile
    • Space Fractal
Re: NETWEBEND issue
« Reply #2 on: 2020-Mar-08 »
its property required to been done in a thread, not in the main thread....... more more pages also moves to https protocol today.
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation and The beagle Jam.

Offline Qedo

  • Dr. Type
  • ****
  • Posts: 271
  • to program what I have todo how should I program?
    • View Profile
Re: NETWEBEND issue
« Reply #3 on: 2020-Mar-08 »
sorry spacefactal but if you answered me I did not understand what you meant

Offline spacefractal

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 3929
    • View Profile
    • Space Fractal
Re: NETWEBEND issue
« Reply #4 on: 2020-Mar-08 »
asyncron features should been do in thread to avoid hanging. Can been dangerours to do that in the main thread. Im doubt this is happens here. Something im not have looked to throught, nor have time to do that in recent future, due a coming soon vacation.

Also im dont think HTTPS protocol is supported at all? as more more browsers dont like HTTP protocol anynmore.
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation and The beagle Jam.

Offline Qedo

  • Dr. Type
  • ****
  • Posts: 271
  • to program what I have todo how should I program?
    • View Profile
Re: NETWEBEND issue
« Reply #5 on: 2020-Mar-08 »
apart from the fact that, as I wrote, I have absolutely no problems declared by MrPlow and therefore with my simple program everything works with V16 but I still don't understand what you mean by "main thread" or "asyncron features" in GLBASIC.
it's possible to do it? and if so how?
sorry and thank you very much

Offline spacefractal

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 3929
    • View Profile
    • Space Fractal
Re: NETWEBEND issue
« Reply #6 on: 2020-Mar-08 »
its features required/fixes to been done in c++ and/or Java.
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation and The beagle Jam.

Offline MrPlow

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
    • View Profile
Re: NETWEBEND issue
« Reply #7 on: 2020-Mar-09 »
it also crashes with the timeout set?
I tried an old program that read a text file on the web with a url that no longer responds (read the results of a lottery in Italy) and the program comes out normally.
Do you have a link to try?
Ciao

Hi Qedo,
The page in question is not a normal missing page - I dont have a link to it as it requires me to bring down the system (used by businesses) but the hanging page eventually timesout but not with GLB.
The page error I am trying to catch is a IIS response that results from a crashed web app 'Application Pool'.

One thing I might try is to add a showscreen just before the netwebend or reduce the timeout to see if that does anything.

Comp:
Speccy-48k, Speccy-128k, Amigas, PCs

Offline spacefractal

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 3929
    • View Profile
    • Space Fractal
Re: NETWEBEND issue
« Reply #8 on: 2020-Mar-09 »
im do can tell the phone has been freezed twice and required restart the whole system when tried to resume.

Howover its look like if im force a glbasicOnPause(-1), before the Java call (that start the browser Intent), return to c++, then its works much better!

Fixed in next version (hopefully of course). Its diddent behaive strange here anymore after added that line.
« Last Edit: 2020-Mar-09 by spacefractal »
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation and The beagle Jam.