Hi,
sometimes the compiler hangs during a project compilation.
There are others with this problem?
After this "bug" when I close the editor a crash occur
P.S.
I have GLBasic version 7.149 on Windows XP Home SP3
Have been ok with the compiler before this latest version?
Does it always hang?
Or is it with certain projects?
Quote from: Hemlos on 2009-Oct-21
Have been ok with the compiler before this latest version?
No all the version have this "bug"
Quote
Does it always hang?
Yes but only after the "bug" when I close the editor.
Quote
Or is it with certain projects?
All the projects seem to be affected.
I think it's a problem that come up when the compiler run the linker
Are you sure you didn't klick the compile or run button twice?
Quote from: Kitty Hello on 2009-Oct-21
Are you sure you didn't klick the compile or run button twice?
Yes I click twice but because at the first click the compiler hangs.
At the second click the compiler works well but crash on exit
Haven't had the problem, although with a long while ago, when I had a slow NAS, it did seem to hang.
Quote from: MrTAToad on 2009-Oct-21
Haven't had the problem, although with a long while ago, when I had a slow NAS, it did seem to hang.
NAS?
NAS = Network Attached Storage. (Harddrive not connected directly to your computer)
Never touch it twice. Wait for it to grind to the end. How long does it take?
Quote from: Kitty Hello on 2009-Oct-21
Never touch it twice. Wait for it to grind to the end. How long does it take?
I'm waiting from 15 minutes.
This is the output of the compiler:
_______________________________________
*** Configuration: WIN32 ***
precompiling:
GPC - GLBasic Precompiler V.7.098 SN:xxxxxxxxx - 3D, NET
Wordcount:86 commands
compiling:
IncrediBuild skips: Programma.gbas,
Can you make the complete project availiable ?
Quote from: MrTAToad on 2009-Oct-21
Can you make the complete project availiable ?
I can't is a commercial program
Might be worth emptying the %TEMP% folders and GLBasic TEMP one too.
Is it only with your one project?
Quote from: Kitty Hello on 2009-Oct-22
Is it only with your one project?
No not only with my project
Open the task manager and see what processes are running. Is the "game" running, or gpc.exe resp. gcc.exe?
Might be worth testing with a new project with one line (say A = 1), and see what happens.
If it doesn't complete the compilation, then check %PATH% (from the command line), and look for any recursion (that creates havoc with programs).
Also check to see if multiple editors are running, gpc/gcc etc too, in the Task Manager
Quote from: Kitty Hello on 2009-Oct-22
Open the task manager and see what processes are running. Is the "game" running, or gpc.exe resp. gcc.exe?
In my task manager there is only "g++.exe" when the compiler hangs. No traces of the game in the RAM :|
Ah there are six "as.exe" one of these is connected to g++.exe.
Five of these six "as.exe" are rests of previous GLBasic crash
if you remove all these gcc and as.exe - does it still no longer compile?
VERY BAD!
Try setting the temp path to C:\Temp.
Quote from: Kitty Hello on 2009-Oct-23
if you remove all these gcc and as.exe - does it still no longer compile?
VERY BAD!
Try setting the temp path to C:\Temp.
If I remove the six "as.exe" and the "c++.exe" I can compile again but till the next hang :|
Why change the Temp path?
maybe the path is too long or on a different drive. I really have no idea. But peek at the task manager. Does the as.exe hang every time you compile?
Really wait for the thing to finish before you press compile/run again.
Quote from: Kitty Hello on 2009-Oct-23
maybe the path is too long or on a different drive. I really have no idea. But peek at the task manager. Does the as.exe hang every time you compile?
No it doesn't hang every time.
It's a random bug sometimes after 3 builds sometimes after 15 builds
Quote
Really wait for the thing to finish before you press compile/run again.
I really wait. :|
Are you compiling or compiling and then running ?
What may be worth trying, is, after a computer reset, just compile the project (without running it - and perhaps adding in extra spaces on the main project to make sure that is always compiled), multiple times without running the program.
If that is fine, but crashes after compiling and running, then it looks like your program is doing something dodgy.
It sounds like the project file may be corrupt. Might be worth re-installing GLBasic too.
Quote from: MrTAToad on 2009-Oct-23
Are you compiling or compiling and then running ?
What may be worth trying, is, after a computer reset, just compile the project (without running it - and perhaps adding in extra spaces on the main project to make sure that is always compiled), multiple times without running the program.
If that is fine, but crashes after compiling and running, then it looks like your program is doing something dodgy.
It sounds like the project file may be corrupt. Might be worth re-installing GLBasic too.
The hang is before I run my compiled program (build option in the ."compiler" menu).
Try for yourself, load a project then push for 20 - 30 times the F8 key
No luck here, I'm afraid...
If you press F8 20x, the compiler gets initalized serveral times. That's bad. You really must wait until one process has finished before you run or rebuild.
I think he is (or at least he should be) - he's press F5/F8 and waiting for the linking system to finish (which apparent;y, it doesn't).
Quote from: MrTAToad on 2009-Oct-23
I think he is (or at least he should be) - he's press F5/F8 and waiting for the linking system to finish (which apparent;y, it doesn't).
exactly! :good:
And you've checked PATH and everything ?
Quote from: MrTAToad on 2009-Oct-24
And you've checked PATH and everything ?
My System path for temporary files is: "C:\DOCUME~1\Mario\IMPOST~1\Temp\"
I don't think it's too long.....
No, I meant the system %PATH% variable.
Quote from: MrTAToad on 2009-Oct-25
No, I meant the system %PATH% variable.
Ok this my path ambient variable:
%SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\System32\Wbem;C:\PROGRA~1\PBWin90\BIN;C:\PROGRA~1\PBCC50\BIN
Thats fine.
Does the same problem happen if you reset the machine, create a small one line project and compile ?