Author Topic: Norton .exe complain [SOLVED]  (Read 643 times)

Offline erico

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 4396
    • View Profile
    • FUED
Norton .exe complain [SOLVED]
« on: 2021-Jun-20 »
Hello chaps, not sure it is a bug or an anti virus fake stuff or maybe my stuff is somehow infected.
A costumer sent me this image where Norton points my .exe tried mess with input.inf

Is that a no worries thing? Did you guys ever saw this?
« Last Edit: 2021-Jun-30 by erico »

Offline Schranz0r

  • Premium User :)
  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 5111
  • O Rly?
    • View Profile
Re: Norton .exe complain
« Reply #1 on: 2021-Jun-21 »
We had problems with the GLB-Editor in the past. False positive on Kaspersky.
On a compiled EXE is new...
I <3 DGArray's :D

PC:
AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @3.9GHz, 16GB HyperX Fury 3000MHz Ram, ASUS ROG GTX 1060 STRIX 6GB, Windows 10 Pro 64Bit, MSi Tomahawk B350 Mainboard

Offline erico

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 4396
    • View Profile
    • FUED
Re: Norton .exe complain
« Reply #2 on: 2021-Jun-21 »
 Burgerlord from itchio wakes norton but not the other games. I used a hack tool to change my games icons but it should not be that as the very same game went to steam without problems. It sure is a bad thing getting people reporting that when they are not computer nerds.

Offline bigsofty

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 2747
    • View Profile
Re: Norton .exe complain
« Reply #3 on: 2021-Jun-21 »
Norton is pretty notorious for false reporting, it may not be your fault Erico. Maybe recommend a decent anti-virus e.g. ESET Nod32.
Cheers,

Ian.

“It is practically impossible to teach good programming style to students that have had prior exposure to BASIC.  As potential programmers, they are mentally mutilated beyond hope of regeneration.”
(E. W. Dijkstra)

Offline erico

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 4396
    • View Profile
    • FUED
Re: Norton .exe complain
« Reply #4 on: 2021-Jun-22 »
Yep it is what I told the user. Looking around the forum it seems norton does a lot of falses towards GLBasic,  so it is just a normal thing.
Maybe this post should be somewhere else as it is not GLB bug related?
Anyways, thanks for the info chaps!

Offline Qedo

  • Dr. Type
  • ****
  • Posts: 352
  • to program what I have todo how should I program?
    • View Profile
Re: Norton .exe complain
« Reply #5 on: 2021-Jun-22 »
why don't you try ?
https://www.virustotal.com/gui/

ad maiora
« Last Edit: 2021-Jun-22 by Qedo »

Offline bigsofty

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 2747
    • View Profile
Re: Norton .exe complain
« Reply #6 on: 2021-Jun-23 »
Nice advice Qedo, I'd forgotten about Virustotal, its a great quick fix for anyone with false positive nervousness.
Cheers,

Ian.

“It is practically impossible to teach good programming style to students that have had prior exposure to BASIC.  As potential programmers, they are mentally mutilated beyond hope of regeneration.”
(E. W. Dijkstra)

Offline erico

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 4396
    • View Profile
    • FUED
Re: Norton .exe complain
« Reply #7 on: 2021-Jun-29 »
Yep, thanks for the hint chaps! I didn´t know of that one.
It seems one of my executables point to an adware BKAV PRO is able to detect.

It could be because I use "Resource Hack" to change icons on my GLB games, I usually notice that after the process, the exe file also gets quite shorter.
Throwing my version on that site also points adware inside the tool.

I have checked my other games, which also had icon changed by resource hack, a no other one seems to behave like that.

Very strange. Still, I will want to change that file at itchio just in case.
Maybe it is time to look on how to change the icon while compiling instead of using a hack tool. :) 

Offline erico

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 4396
    • View Profile
    • FUED
Re: Norton .exe complain
« Reply #8 on: 2021-Jun-30 »
I'm running win 7, Microsoft essentials keep saying GCD inside GLBasic has viruses so I updated for the latest steam version and it seems to be ok now.
Still, after recompiling Burger Lord with the proper icon set up, no hack tool, I sent it to that site and got this:
MaxSecure - Trojan.Malware.300983.susgen - Acronis

Now that is different to the first warning on the older file, still, it sucks to have it happening.
Maybe my system is compromised? I truly doubt it but if that only happens on my side, then that might be it.

Loaded another project, Microsoft essentials has this to say about GLBasic: (see attachment)
Than I allowed GDC through and compiled, worked all fine, sent it to Virus Total and nothing was detected.
Loaded Burgerlord´s project, compiled, sent to Virus total and I get the same MaxSecure trojan warning.

Reading about it on the internets is quite a confusion, but the false positive theories are there.
What the heck could be going on? I will have to look it a bit further.

Offline erico

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 4396
    • View Profile
    • FUED
Re: Norton .exe complain
« Reply #9 on: 2021-Jun-30 »
I think the problem might be on my end, saved the project on another location and went on adding the media and now those virus total are not complaining about it anymore.
 

Offline spacefractal

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 3956
    • View Profile
    • Space Fractal
Re: Norton .exe complain [SOLVED]
« Reply #10 on: 2021-Jul-11 »
some antivirus report false positive. etc when you example uses steam drm, some scanners does not like that...... bugger.
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation and The beagle Jam.