GLBasic forum

Main forum => Bug Reports => Topic started by: Hemlos on 2015-Aug-14

Title: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: Hemlos on 2015-Aug-14
1. In 2d, window mode: work fine when i change resolution of the window, from what i can see,
2. In 3d, window mode: the 3d scene is the old resolution viewport even though the window is resized.
3. I experienced the program completly stops rendered graphics to the screen when using SETSCREEN, when switching from window to fullscreen mode during runtime.

first image is as expected rendering in v12.312
Seconds image is v14.001
Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: erico on 2015-Aug-14
Yep, I can confirm this on the v14 too.
Most of my code use setscreen and I get that behavior.
Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: spacefractal on 2015-Aug-14
Can this to been fixed using VIEWPORT?
Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: kanonet on 2015-Aug-14
No viewport does not change anything. Fix needed anyway.
Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: Kitty Hello on 2015-Aug-14
Oopsie daisies.
Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: Paul Smith on 2015-Aug-14
need the Link to v14.002 
installed 14.001 from main page
then used web update to v14.002 which i think failed but has changed the version to v14.002 and wont let me download again

or it worked and SETSCREEN is still faulty in v14.002
Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: erico on 2015-Aug-14
same happended here, it failed and no fix on setscreen although the IDE did show v14.002.
I re downloaded GLB from the homepage and re-installed it.
Will try the upgrade again.
I think the message was about the compiler directory...let me see.
Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: erico on 2015-Aug-14
Yep, this is the error I get at 33% of installing it.
Setscreen still broke after that.
Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: Paul Smith on 2015-Aug-14
Tried it again no luck.
stops at "install 33%"

warning box  "!!! failed to install: Compiler\platform\Include"

then changes version to 14.002



How do you add screen shots to posts? keep showing blank on preview.

looks like Erico Beat me to it. :)

Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: erico on 2015-Aug-14
...
How do you add screen shots to posts? keep showing blank on preview.
...

When writing a post, click ATTACHMENTS AND OTHER OPTIONS
Choose your image (choose file) and then just post it.
Beware of the file type and size limits described under the choose file button.

If it is just a simple thing, like I did, it is best to crop or reduce the image size and use a higher jpg compression to help save space on the forum, otherwise if the quality is needed, like pixel art, you may wanna try png.
Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: Paul Smith on 2015-Aug-14
cheers , I was messing with insert image icon as well. I guess that for web stored Images.

Sent from my M470BSE using Tapatalk

Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: Hemlos on 2015-Aug-15
Kitty,

Same problem but i think its due to the update somehow...
i took screenshot of an error message.

Also screenshot of the "about" after the failed update.
It is showing the new version number.

And a screenshot of a program after using setscreen, in 3d mode with some 2d overlays.

The red arrows show the dimension of unrendered area, the window resizes, but not the viewport.
Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: MrTAToad on 2015-Aug-15
It does look as though all rendering stops (or rather the program hangs) after using SETSCREEN at the moment, although I find the program goes to full screen and is then minimised...
Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: erico on 2015-Aug-15
Can we continue this subject here?
http://www.glbasic.com/forum/index.php?topic=10421.0

I believe we are talking the same bug.
Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: Hemlos on 2015-Aug-16
No, v12 is going out of the picture.
They are 2 different ide's which means they have thier own problems.
The bug reports for each version is important, leave the bug reports as they are.

All future updates are going to be ver 14 im sure.
So if anyone else has setscreen issues in v14...this is the place to put the message.


Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: erico on 2015-Aug-16
fair :good:
Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: Kitty Hello on 2015-Aug-16
Does 14.003 fix it?
Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: MrTAToad on 2015-Aug-16
I believe so...
Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: kanonet on 2015-Aug-16
In my tests SETSCREEN is fixed, thank you.

But fullscreen set in project settings is still ignored (tested on windows only).
Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: Hemlos on 2015-Aug-16
fullscreen in project windows is an interesting issue.
other that that i think setscreen is fixed.

just touching on that fullscreen options bug...
When i use it, it looks like it starts to go into fullscreen,
but then it glitches the whole screen for a split second, then becomes a window.
Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: erico on 2015-Aug-20
Are the issues gone on the latest 006 version?
If so, maybe the poster could update the title to add a [FIXED] at its end? Would that be a good idea?

I ran 006 here on window and no problems with the setscreen, how is the full screen doing?
Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: spacefractal on 2015-Aug-20
SETSCREEN did not work here either, but did with the newer version. But im do have a oddie after setting to fullscreen:

- You must CLICK on the fullscreen, before keyboard works (which does a little some half second "black" screen or some sort of that).
Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: Hemlos on 2015-Aug-20
I think its still not 100% working.
I will have more info by this weekend i hope.
It could be my software with a bug, but i doubt it because it works on my computer.

The fullscreen switch in setscreen, during runtime, is when the failure is experienced.
The program running, using setsceeen, failed when it was expanding from 1280x768 to the fullscreen size of the testers desktop size. Personally i dont experience this, but im going to run more tests.
Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: erico on 2015-Aug-20
I tested this full screen code on my win7 running glb 006:
http://www.glbasic.com/forum/index.php?topic=10437.0

Fullscreen with setscreen worked fine on my end.
Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: spacefractal on 2015-Aug-20
heer im set a random none screen resolution, and allways have used the user DESKTOP resolution, which is the most correct way to do.

Its fixed here as least with the DESTOP resolution, not what its set in the Project Options (which is more more wandered out and is really only for a windowered resolution anyway).


Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: Hemlos on 2015-Aug-20
The program running, using setsceeen, failed when it was expanding from 1280x768 to the fullscreen size of the testers desktop size. Personally i dont experience this, but im going to run more tests.

I didnt experience the problem, because my gpu can do the window res in fullscreen.
AND i THOUGHT i was using desktop size...i intended to, and failed to add it to the switching algorithm.
Thanks for the insights, i had to revisit my code.

All is well im sure, i will reply again if its still failing.
Title: Re: v14.001 setscreen issues
Post by: ProN3rd on 2015-Sep-28
edit: just saw this thread http://www.glbasic.com/forum/index.php?topic=10421.0