M$ Surface RT 10.6 tablet question

Previous topic - Next topic

fuzzy70

Hi All, I have some questions with regards to the Windows RT tablets.

I will be taking my Dad & Stepmum shopping the day after Boxing Day to buy a new laptop to replace their 8yr old one & have just learned they want to buy a tablet as well when out & about. The most important thing to keep in mind is neither of them are in any way technology minded, in fact more technophobic than anything else  :D

Basically they use the laptop for email, Facebook, eBay & general browsing like booking holidays etc (& writing the very occasional letter). I have very little Windows 8 knowledge as I follow the "If it ain't broke don't play with it rule" & Win8 offers me nothing I class as needed nor any of my apps require it, besides if it delays the hassle of re-installing all my apps etc then my current Win7 (which works perfectly) is more than good enough.

However the "Simpleness" so to speak of Win8 I think will do well for them & I presume the look & feel of the tablet is near enough the same as the desktop OS. So of anybody has any experience of both of these your comments/help would be useful.

• Are the main OS & tablet versions pretty much the same in regards to usage?
  • Is transferring pictures etc between the two made more simple due to them both being Win8 based?
The above are the 2 most important questions I have & any help would be appreciated.

I will go Android if need be but seeing as neither of them have any Android experience I don't want to confuse or make things more difficult for them if possible.

For those interested in the specs of the Tablet it has the following

• NVIDIA Tegra T30 processor (1.4 GHz, quad-core)
  • 32GB Storage
  • 2GB RAM
  • 10.6 inch screen
  • 5 point Multitouch

Cheers

Lee
"Why don't you just make ten louder and make ten be the top number and make that a little louder?"
- "These go to eleven."

This Is Spinal Tap (1984)

Ian Price

Windows 8. Shudder!