GLBasic forum

Main forum => Beta Tests => Topic started by: Millerszone on 2011-Aug-03

Title: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: Millerszone on 2011-Aug-03
I received the TouchPad today.

I followed the instructions just like for the Palm:
http://www.glbasic.com/xmlhelp.php?lang=en&id=395&action=view (http://www.glbasic.com/xmlhelp.php?lang=en&id=395&action=view)

But when I get to this part ("In the directory "C:\Prog...\GLBasic\compiler\platform\webos\tool\bin\novaterm\"
double click the file "pdk-device-install.bat", now. The program should copy the required files to your device now.
If there is an error, please contact us in the GLBasic.com forums.)

I get("Error: No device detected. Connect device and make sure Developer Mode is enabled.")

I'm in the Touchpad's Developers mode and the PC detects that it is connected.

When I connect the palm it works with no problems.

Any suggestions?

Title: Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: MrTAToad on 2011-Aug-03
Are you using XP or Windows Vista/7 ?

I suspect novacom needs updated

Code (glbasic) Select
for /f " usebackq tokens=*" %%i in (`novacom -l`) do set DEVICELIST=%%i
Title: Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: Millerszone on 2011-Aug-03
Windows 7 64-bit and GLBasic 10.057
Title: Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: MrTAToad on 2011-Aug-03
Can you run (with the Tablet connected) :

Code (glbasic) Select
novacom -l

from the command line and see what it says.  I suspect it won't be :

roadrunner-linux, castle-linux, pixie-linux or emulator
Title: Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: Millerszone on 2011-Aug-03
Working now. rebooted touchpad turned off and on developer mode and now connects.

Screen is in the bottom left corner. I'll do more test and post some pics.
Also noticed sound plays fast.

Title: Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: Millerszone on 2011-Aug-03
The screen capture below is what the TouchPad looks like when I try to compile for WebOS at screen
size 320x480 and 768x1024, of coarse all of the buttons don't work since screen is not centered.
Sound did play.

So, next I downloaded "Hit the Deck Baseball" for the pre(320x480) from the App Catalog, everything worked o.k
but the the bat swing and ball moment was not as smooth as on the old palm pre.
Sound was o.k. Network also worked for the high scores.

I also tried adding "uiRevision": 2 to the appinfo.json file, but no difference to the graphics.
(The uiRevision key tells WebOS that your app is capable of running full-screen on a TouchPad,
avoiding the annoying phone emulator.)

So if I download an app from the App Catalog that was compiled with an older version of GLBasic
the graphics are scaled and centered, but if re-compile with GLB 10.057 and install the ipk the
screen is shown in the bottom left corner when screen size is set to 320x480 or 768x1024.

Oh and Pre version of Dr. Shiver plays nice.

So far I'm really impressed with the TouchPad.

Here is a good page to read: webOS 2.0(mojo) to webOS 3.0(enyo)
http://beckism.com/2011/07/webos-mojo-to-enyo/ (http://beckism.com/2011/07/webos-mojo-to-enyo/)

(http://www.americantc.com/Images/hitthedeckTouchpad.png)
Title: Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: MrTAToad on 2011-Aug-03
Looks like there may need to be an additional compiler option for the Tablet - or possibly there is a screen bug :)
Title: Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: Millerszone on 2011-Aug-03
I tried an older version of GLBasic, but made no difference.

I'll be glad to test some ipk's
Title: Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: MrTAToad on 2011-Aug-03
Shall I email my one to you ?
Title: Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: Millerszone on 2011-Aug-03
Sure can. mike (°) millerszone (dt) com
Title: Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: MrTAToad on 2011-Aug-03
I'll send my Sprite Speed Tester first as that one doesn't use SETSCREEN

By the way, does the tablet just have one screen resolution (1024x768) or is there a 768x1024 ?
Title: Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: Millerszone on 2011-Aug-03
o.k tested. Display in bottom left corner, with the home button on top, the iPad is on the bottom.

Could not see the FPS, since it was on the left.

(http://www.americantc.com/Images/spritespeedtester.jpg)
Title: Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: MrTAToad on 2011-Aug-03
Yes, its certainly using the default resolution in the project :)
Title: Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: Millerszone on 2011-Aug-03
Why if I download "Hit the Deck Baseball", Dr Shivers or B'lox from the HP App Catalog the games fills the screen nicely.

Could HP be changing something before sending apps to the App Catalog?
Title: Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: MrTAToad on 2011-Aug-04
I dont think so - I suspect there may be a bug somewhere... :)
Title: Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: Millerszone on 2011-Aug-04
I'm updating the touchpad to webOS 3.0.2 maybe there is a fix.
I'll try your test#2 ipk as soon as it finishes updating.
Title: Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: MrTAToad on 2011-Aug-04
Thanks for that!
Title: Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: Millerszone on 2011-Aug-04
With test#2, no change, screen in bottom left corner.

webOS 3.0.2 made no difference.
Title: Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: Millerszone on 2011-Aug-04
I'll start a new thread in the Bug Reports thread Forum.
http://www.glbasic.com/forum/index.php?topic=6685.0 (http://www.glbasic.com/forum/index.php?topic=6685.0)
Title: Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: MrTAToad on 2011-Aug-04
Good idea - it does look like a buggette...
Title: Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: Ian Price on 2011-Aug-04
I suspect that HP are responsible for this. They went through a load of apps, checking that they work on the TP. I reckon that they added/enabled a flag somewhere in the app itself that affects how it is displayed on the TP. This would not then be a GLB bug, but a feature that is added once HP have it. This would explain the differences between a normal .IPK and a downloaded .IPK.

I would raise this issue over on the Dev forums. Maybe info they provide can enable GLB to do the same for apps destined for the TouchPad.
Title: Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: MrTAToad on 2011-Aug-04
Would be interesting to see what they say.  I dont believe they are fiddling with the packages though...
Title: Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: Ian Price on 2011-Aug-04
There are only two possible explanations as to how the same .IPK appears in two different ways

Either -

i) There's something different with GLB

or

ii) HP have done something.

We know that HP have been reviewing apps. I think they've altered them, due to the number of complaints about non-full screen apps when the TP first came out. There were lots of complaints at Pre-Central and the Dev forums about apps appearing as small screens in the middle of the TP.
Title: Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: MrTAToad on 2011-Aug-04
Be interesting to see what they reply...
Title: Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
Post by: Kitty Hello on 2011-Aug-18
Where did you get it from? And for what price?