So you want to be a game developer?

Previous topic - Next topic

Wampus

erico

I have a degree in cinema (in brasil), so I think I´m in a worse position then that guy :D

Nice joke, I would skip the angry birds success though, as that seems to me as the biggest scum ever.
Money for advertisement was probably higher then what they got at the end by ripping other people´s game of.

If it was soo successful, how come nobody is doing it again?
What is the name of the company that produced it? the coder? the artists?

As for minecraft, it is a lot easier to fill those questions.

But yeah, I just wish I could live coding games.
I guess quantity is more important for beginners.

Hard to find successful indie game developers that took that first game out of the hat and voila!
Better but some 10 year work on it to see some results. :'(

Ian Price

QuoteNice joke, I would skip the angry birds success though, as that seems to me as the biggest scum ever.
Money for advertisement was probably higher then what they got at the end by ripping other people´s game of.
Actually the game came before the advertising. And the game was pretty original from the outset. It's only been downloaded 500 million times (according to Wiki), so maybe they haven't quite reached their intended audience? ;) :P

Someone's not paying attention to the App stores... There are countless re-imaginings

Rovio

As for minecraft, it is a lot easier to fill those questions.
For most people it's not. Minecraft does not appeal to the mass-market/general public in the same way that Angry Birds does.
I came. I saw. I played.

BdR

Quote from: erico on 2012-Mar-07
Nice joke, I would skip the angry birds success though, as that seems to me as the biggest scum ever.

Funny and recognisable (except for the college drop out part) :D

Actually the creators of "Crush the Castle", the game "Angry Birds" ripped off sort of, has in turn ripped off the cutesy graphics style in their new game "Siege Hero".

erico