GLBasic forum

Main forum => FAQ => Topic started by: sf-in-sf on 2012-Apr-14

Title: android and archos tablet
Post by: sf-in-sf on 2012-Apr-14
Help! What is wrong with my configuration? (win7 + Xubuntu on asus A53SV, archos android tablet 101G9)

The android SDK looks like it's installed o.k. since i get my pgm compiled.  =D
The tablet looks like it is installed o.k. as i can transfer ...\distribute\Android\bin\*name*-glbasic-debug-unaligned.apk into the tablet's directory "Computer\ARCHOS 101G9\Internal Storage\Download"   and then install and run it.  :happy:
(it's the only *.apk file that can be installed o.k. inside the tablet)  :S

By running AVD i get my 3 versions of android o.s. running ok inside the simulator.
However when AVD is open and running, compiling for android in GLbasic doesn't install and run the pgm in the simulator, as described in the help files.
(MoSync did it... if you have the patience to use the tedious C++)  :sick:

:zzz: At command prompt i type "adb devices" and get the reply:
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
List of devices attached

[2 empty lines]
C:\Users\Ra>_

// then//
"adb usb" replies:
error: device not found  :blink:

I tried to update the tablet driver:
computer Rclick -> computer management -> device manager -> portable devices -> archos 101G9
list of driver files:
...system32\DRIVERS\UMDF\WpdMtpDr.dll
...system32\DRIVERS\winusb.sys
...system32\DRIVERS\WUDFRd.sys
...system32\WpdMtp.dll
...system32\WpdMtpUS.dll   :glare:

Win7 doesn't allow me to update to the manufacturer's driver that contains
android_winusb.inf
WdfCoInstaller01009.dll
winusbcoinstaller2.dll
WUDFUpdate_01009.dll
   ...saying the installed drivers are already up-to-date.
Should i force do it manually?  :whip:

As Archos says, i added the line
echo 0x0e79 >> "%USERPROFILE%\.android\adb_usb.ini"
in c:\Users\Ra\.android\adb_usb.ini
without results.  :(

I can see two "BUILD FAILED" message in the ouput console (is it bad Doctor?):
Quote____________________________________
*** Configuration: ANDROID ***
precompiling:
GPC - GLBasic Precompiler V.10.104 SN:cc8796c9 - 3D, NET
Wordcount:1139 commands
compile+link:
running Android build-script...
BUILD STAGE 1: Compile and pack RELEASE
     [echo] Gathering info for glbasic...
     [echo] Creating output directories if needed...
     [echo] ----------
     [echo] Handling aidl files...
     [echo] ----------
     [echo] Handling RenderScript files...
     [echo] ----------
     [echo] Handling Resources...

BUILD FAILED
Q:\Compiler\platform\android\android-sdk-windows\tools\ant\build.xml:539: The following error occurred while executing this line:
Q:\Compiler\platform\android\android-sdk-windows\tools\ant\build.xml:568: null returned: 1

Total time: 2 seconds
.
BUILD STAGE 2: Build DEBUG and install on device
     [echo] Gathering info for glbasic...
     [echo] Creating output directories if needed...
     [echo] ----------
     [echo] Handling aidl files...
     [echo] ----------
     [echo] Handling RenderScript files...
     [echo] ----------
     [echo] Handling Resources...

BUILD FAILED
Q:\Compiler\platform\android\android-sdk-windows\tools\ant\build.xml:539: The following error occurred while executing this line:
Q:\Compiler\platform\android\android-sdk-windows\tools\ant\build.xml:568: null returned: 1

Total time: 2 seconds
finished Android build-script.
Android=C:\Users\Ra\Myfuk-GLbasic\GLBasic\GLBasic\AppName004\distribute\Android
success
_______________________________________
*** Finished ***
Elapsed: 17.9 sec. Time: 04:29
Build: 1 succeeded.
:whistle:

Here is a useful link to archos:
http://www.archos.com/support/support_tech/updates_adb.html?country=ws&lang=en

Finally the pictures used for sprites in GLb' are placed in the app folder and loaded o.k.  :-* (hope the transparency will be fine).
On the local machine the program works  :coke:. When i transfer it (manually) into the tablet, all the images/sprites appear as a white square instead.
I couldn't find where to place the images for them to be included in the apk file. Anyone with some experience there?

Many thanks in advance,  <3

   sf-in-sf
Title: Re: android and archos tablet
Post by: MrTAToad on 2012-Apr-14
The 539 could mean the icon.png file isn't present (not in the same place as the project) or the company name is empty or has invalid characters.
Title: Re: android and archos tablet
Post by: mentalthink on 2012-Apr-15
HI the Archos are a little Special... go to Archos and read the instructions... I don´t remenber very well, but it´s putting so,mething like "ECHO" and Hex number in MS-DOS... if you don´t make this Step , Windows don´t see well the Archos...

But don´t care runs well, I have an Archos 70, and runs perfectly, always at the beggin whit new hard, you have to stay a couple of hours for working...
Title: Re: android and archos tablet
Post by: sf-in-sf on 2012-Apr-27
Hi! Gernot helped me reinstalling everything and now the i d e compiles o.k. and installs directly to the emulator:

Hi,

uninstall GLBasic, delete the directory C:\program files\GLBasic\. Reinstall now.
Now open the editor, press menu web/live-update. Perform update to the latest version.

Then look in your project. Is there an icon.png in the directory where the .gbap file is? If not, put one there. 512x512 is recomended.

Open your proejct now. Press the trashcan icon.
In menu project/options enter your company name and a project name. Don't use spaces, special chars and numbers here.

Now compile for Android again.

Nice one Gernot! (errr... what was wrong actually?)