GLBasic V12 (was formerly V11 beta)

Previous topic - Next topic

MrTAToad

Might be an idea!

hardyx

Quote from: spacefractal on 2012-Oct-14
CLEARSCREEN can still not support alpha. Its really annoying to trying clearscreen a offbuffer with 100% clean with alpha.

if Im doing this:
SETTRANSPARENCY RGB(0,0,0)
CLEARSCREEN RGB(0,0,0)


The screen is still filled with black, but its should have been fully transparency. I do hope Gernot add a "CLEARSCREEN RGB(RED, GREEN, BLUE), ALPHA" as a option (since I seen there is a opengl feature for that, so its should been a easy fix).

So this is property why some people have trouble to get ALPHA correctly work.
I don't understand what do you want cleaning the screen with transparency. I think transparency is not applyable to CLEARSCREEN. You give the colour you want to erase the screen. Maybe you want to clear the screen and then draw using transparent colour zones.


spacefractal

#107
for use with offbuffers and then png use alpha for transperancy. its not that notiable when using graphics buffer. I think I have posted about that before for a year ago. That would also fixc eventuelly alpha multiply issues. In Greedy Mouse I did not use offbuffers at all.

PS. This is not a bug, but more just a limit.
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation - The beagle Jam - Cave Heroes 2023 - https://spacefractal.itch.io/

MrTAToad

When compiling for HTML5, will the full set of 3D commands be usable too ?

spacefractal

#109
Android Rotation Issues by SETORIENTATION 0 did not fix all issues (etc if I force my game in portrait mode in manifest on my HP Touchpad, you will see the issue again), but I guess I got a fix to that too.

Look in the Java communication thread. There is a java command that can tell the current orientation of the device, which is very important to use. The value can been varied from system to system, but you can checkout which value its have by set SETORIENTATION from the returned display.getOrientation() value. Here its worked by setting the game to "portrait" mode, and hp touchpad default mode is "landscape". Actuelly the return value for portrait was set to 3 for HP Touchpad.

PS. While this help with fixed orientation issues in either "landscape" or "portrait" in manifest, the surface changes using "unspecified" or "sensor" is still not doing correctly (but the hint got returned nicely).
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation - The beagle Jam - Cave Heroes 2023 - https://spacefractal.itch.io/

aroldo

Gernot,

Very cool stuff! Thank you!

I compiled 2 of my projects on V11 , MetroBeatHD and Brick Buster, they both work.
The only compilation error issue I had was the TYPE, I had a TYPE called Mouse and another called State I just had to rename them to TMOUSE and TSTATE and the apps work fine on Win32.
I will test on iPhone and HP/Palm devices and let you know the results.

Sincerely,
[a http://apd-games.com/][img http://apd-games.com/images/APDGames135.png][/a]
MacBook Pro OS X El Capitan
XCode Version 7
iPhone 6 running  iOS 9
iPad Mini running  iOS 7.1
Galaxy S5
Dell Latitude Windows 8 Enterprise
Palm Pre, Palm Pre2

aroldo

I compiled and tested Brickbuster on the Palm Pre2 and it worked fine.

On XCode I did not compiled and I got the following error messages:
Undefined symbols for architecture armv7:
  "__GLBASIC__::CGStr::CGStr(char const*)", referenced from:
      void __GLBASIC__::glb_err_array_range<__GLBASIC__::DGArray<__GLBASIC__::star> >(__GLBASIC__::DGArray<__GLBASIC__::star> const&, int, int, int, int) in libPROGRAM.a(gpc_temp0.o)
      void __GLBASIC__::glb_err_array_range<__GLBASIC__::DGArray<__GLBASIC__::brick> >(__GLBASIC__::DGArray<__GLBASIC__::brick> const&, int, int, int, int) in libPROGRAM.a(gpc_temp0.o)
      __GLBASIC__::__GetPrpjectVersionGLB() in libPROGRAM.a(gpc_tempg.o)
      __GLBASIC__::__BuildSerial() in libPROGRAM.a(gpc_tempg.o)
      __GLBASIC__::__CompileTime() in libPROGRAM.a(gpc_tempg.o)
      __static_initialization_and_destruction_0(int, int) in libPROGRAM.a(gpc_tempg.o)
  "__GLBASIC__::__DG_DEBUG", referenced from:
      ___GLB_Defaults in libPROGRAM.a(gpc_temp0.o)
  "__GLBASIC__::__DG_FRAMERATE", referenced from:
      ___GLB_Defaults in libPROGRAM.a(gpc_temp0.o)
  "__GLBASIC__::__DG_FULLSCREEN", referenced from:
      ___GLB_Defaults in libPROGRAM.a(gpc_temp0.o)
  "__GLBASIC__::SHOWSCREEN(int)", referenced from:
      __GLBASIC__::draw() in libPROGRAM.a(gpc_temp0.o)
  "__GLBASIC__::__DG_WANTMOUSE", referenced from:
      ___GLB_Defaults in libPROGRAM.a(gpc_temp0.o)
  "__GLBASIC__::__DG_RESX", referenced from:
      ___GLB_Defaults in libPROGRAM.a(gpc_temp0.o)
  "__GLBASIC__::__DG_RESY", referenced from:
      ___GLB_Defaults in libPROGRAM.a(gpc_temp0.o)
  "__GLBASIC__::__DG_MULTISAMPLE", referenced from:
      ___GLB_Defaults in libPROGRAM.a(gpc_temp0.o)
ld: symbol(s) not found for architecture armv7
clang: error: linker command failed with exit code 1 (use -v to see invocation)
[a http://apd-games.com/][img http://apd-games.com/images/APDGames135.png][/a]
MacBook Pro OS X El Capitan
XCode Version 7
iPhone 6 running  iOS 9
iPad Mini running  iOS 7.1
Galaxy S5
Dell Latitude Windows 8 Enterprise
Palm Pre, Palm Pre2

spacefractal

You have old libs. Better create a new Xcode project, setup it again and compile. If you have costume code, don't forget to add them again when doing new project.
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation - The beagle Jam - Cave Heroes 2023 - https://spacefractal.itch.io/

aroldo

Spacefractal,

I did create a new Xcode project and copy the files generated by the GLB V11 .
I am using XCode Version 4.5.1 (4G1004), this was the update for iOS 6.0.

Any suggestions?
[a http://apd-games.com/][img http://apd-games.com/images/APDGames135.png][/a]
MacBook Pro OS X El Capitan
XCode Version 7
iPhone 6 running  iOS 9
iPad Mini running  iOS 7.1
Galaxy S5
Dell Latitude Windows 8 Enterprise
Palm Pre, Palm Pre2

bigsofty

#114
Small problem when compiling...

Sometimes the compilation gets 'stuck', when compiling to an Android device...

     [echo] Installing C:\Coding Folder\Projects\GLBasic\plasmatron\distribute\Android\bin\glbasic-debug.apk onto default emulator or device...

The ADB process seems to be frozen in memory (adb shell, adb restart-server, adb kill-server does nothing). I can't quit it, even from task-manager.

If I try an kill the ADB process sometimes I get this...

BUILD FAILED
Q:\Compiler\platform\android\android-sdk-windows\tools\ant\build.xml:1100: The following error occurred while executing this line:
Q:\Compiler\platform\android\android-sdk-windows\tools\ant\build.xml:1114: exec returned: 1


I did notice the the Android SDK that comes with GLB is pretty out of date? I can't confirm that is what is causing the error though.

The only sure fire way to solve the problem is to reboot the computer.

Edit: I replaced the android-sdk-windows folders with the equivalent folders from the latest Android SDK and the freezes seem to have vanished.
Cheers,

Ian.

"It is practically impossible to teach good programming style to students that have had prior exposure to BASIC.  As potential programmers, they are mentally mutilated beyond hope of regeneration."
(E. W. Dijkstra)

spacefractal

#115
I use that too and works fine. I have seen those issues as well, and that due you still using a files from older glbasic builds. Those are of course not compatible. Also v10 and v11 Xcode is not combatible together.

So here I deleted the distrubtion completly and recreated project again my compile. (but remember to save additions files like m files and such of course). It's a hell, but I don't think gernot can do anything with that?

Also you might try reinstall glbasic 11 in a fresh folder (instead installing on top) as well (to make sure no old libs confuction compiler).
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation - The beagle Jam - Cave Heroes 2023 - https://spacefractal.itch.io/

spacefractal

today I noticed as ?IFDEF MACOSX does nothing and skipped when compile to OS-X_x86..... That mean I see the vSync issues again (which LIMITFPS 60, true) did not fixed on mac.

Also I still see odd framerate drops with Windows after a while. So im really not sure its was due vsync etc on that system. Absolutte not sure why. I have a Geforce 240 graphicscard. Im not sure its will been a priotety to fix since I have no clue why.
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation - The beagle Jam - Cave Heroes 2023 - https://spacefractal.itch.io/

Kitty Hello

the ifdef for osx-universal and osx-x86 would be:
?IFDEF OSXUNI

?IFDEF OSXX86

r0ber7

Quote from: spacefractal on 2012-Oct-14
for use with offbuffers and then png use alpha for transperancy. its not that notiable when using graphics buffer. I think I have posted about that before for a year ago. That would also fixc eventuelly alpha multiply issues. In Greedy Mouse I did not use offbuffers at all.

PS. This is not a bug, but more just a limit.

This is something I'd like to see too. Trying to use one screen more than once. Instead, now I probably have to create a screen every time.  :S

BdR

Quote from: Kitty Hello on 2012-Sep-15
Here's the changelog:
Code (glbasic) Select

// 11.171-beta
// Core:
//    Faster handling of constant strings.


I just tried recompiling my game which uses several CONSTANT's. The constants with integers seem to work, but strings not so much... :noggin:
Here is test code to reproduce it:

Code (glbasic) Select
CONSTANT SETTINGS_FILE$ = "/settings.ini"
GLOBAL test$
test$ = "C:/MyTest" // PLATFORMINFO$("DOCUMENTS")
DEBUG "test [" + test$ + SETTINGS_FILE$ + "] 123\n"
END


The above code outputs the following: test [C:/MyTest] 123
Instead of the expected: test [C:/MyTest/settings.ini] 123

I'm using the v11 IDE, although it shows v10 compiler in the log:
GLBasic IDE, Version: 11.171
GPC - GLBasic Precompiler V.10.070 SN:28aaf7cf - 3D, NET