glbasic, or ...?

Previous topic - Next topic

shaftusmaximus

Hi,

My background is that I'm an experienced developer with an engineering degree, used to work for IBM, yadda yadda.

At any rate, I've been pursuing my own personal projects, and now have need of some 2D/3D graphics.  Normally I would never choose Basic for a language, but my FIRST CRITERIA is that I want to get graphics up as quickly and painlessly as possible, without a lot of BS.  The less lines of code I have to write to get graphics up and going, and the more intuitive it is, the better for me.  I could sit down and start writing in openGL (been there, done that), but if there is something out there that can get me up and running A LOT QUICKER, that's what I'm looking for.

I'm NOT looking for something that essentially lets me write the same exact opengl code in Basic.  If what I end up writing is a line by line translation of opengl (vertex commands and the whole tedious 9 yards), I can just use opengl.  What I'd like is a few lines of code that gets stuff up and running quick.  For instance, I saw maybe 3 or 4 lines of darkbasic code that had a rotating 3d cube on the screen.  That's the kind of thing I'm looking for.  I'd like minimal code and time leading to maximum results on screen.

Would you recommend glbasic for my needs?  If not, what would you recommend?

Thanks a lot.

PeeJay

Er, this must be a trick question! Obviously, GL Basics users on a GL Basic forum are going to recommend GL Basic!

However, in answer to your question, yes, GL Basic will allow you to get graphics up and running quickly, and, speaking for myself, having come from Blitz Basic (and, in turn, before that I used Dark Basic) I have found that GL Basic offers eveything you need, and since it compiles to C, it runs quickly on low end machines (or in comparison to what I have used in the past)