64 Bit Support Required Feb 2015..

Previous topic - Next topic

spacefractal

(Sorry about messing a post, after im tried to split the SORTARRAY issue to own post). This is what the previous two post is about.

Yes Greedy Mouse got accepted, so its believe we close to release a final project.

There is a SORTARRAY issue left (see own thread). When that is fixed, then im will release the public version of the new xCode project, included with compiled source code files. Im is waiting Headkaze for look on this final issue, hopefully fixed in the weekend.

There can stil been other bugs, but that would been the last important bug to been fixed.

Catch Out and Spot Race does both run nicely in 64bit mode too, but have not submitted a 64bit binaries of those yet (but will do that after new year). Im tested with Greedy Mouse first.
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation - The beagle Jam - Cave Heroes 2023 - https://spacefractal.itch.io/

MrTAToad

#106
Its possible your comparison function is being called with pointers and not values.   You need to use something like :

Code (glbasic) Select
DGNat routine(DGNat &a, DGNat &b)
{
DEBUG("A:"); DEBUG(FORMAT_Str(0, 0, a)); DEBUG("\n");
DEBUG("B:"); DEBUG(FORMAT_Str(0, 0, b)); DEBUG("\n");
return (a<b ? -1 : \
a>b ? 1 : 0);
}


In the
Code (glbasic) Select
template <class T> void sortarray(T* low, T* high, int foo) function, T t is unused...

spacefractal

please repost the in the SORTARRAY thread. Im want the issue to been seperated.
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation - The beagle Jam - Cave Heroes 2023 - https://spacefractal.itch.io/

mrplant

Good to hear you are Taking the time to fix these issues - just glad and appreciate work is being done on this complex issue.
A fitting end to the hear to hear this news..

Meanwhile I am continuing coding on my latest app, happy that it will thanks to you all here be able to be submitted to apple sometime in the future when apple requires 64 bit apps.

:nw:

spacefractal

now the final issue is fixed. There will not been long im can release the xcode project or Gernot can upload it. There was only a minor change to glb.h to get SORTARRAY working in 64bit mode, but the example in the manual is also have a little bug too there (float not working when using compare functions).

Gernot, im send the Android and iOS projects to you, what im have today or tomorrow. Im will later release it to public (in the none source code version of course).
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation - The beagle Jam - Cave Heroes 2023 - https://spacefractal.itch.io/

spacefractal

a 64bit beta project have now finally been released:
http://www.glbasic.com/forum/index.php?topic=10191.0

The glbasic source code is NOT included there, because its a public forum.

There is so many changes, im recommered you to create a new xCode project. This due libPROGRAM.a is not used anymore, but compiles the generated cpp files directly in xCode (not included glbasic source code, which is still created as a file).

Im did that to prevent having to xCode projects for compiling. See readme.txt how to do that.
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation - The beagle Jam - Cave Heroes 2023 - https://spacefractal.itch.io/

mrplant

That's great news. I still need to get spare time to mysef to sit down and try it out - hopefully soon.
Meantime I have a few questions ..

1/ does the new compilation process in Xcode allow you to now use the Xcode simulator? I am guessing not but Thaught I'd ask anyway..

2/ are both 32 and 64 but binaries produced ?

3/ lastly if so, how can you tell which version 32 or 64 bit is actually running once you start it up on your Ipad or iPhone or iPod ?

Thanks a lot.

spacefractal

#112
1. X64 is not included in the compiled a files (png and glbasic sourcecode). So no, a device is still required. But should been pretty easy to support it in the simulator, but by now easier to not include it, due that xcode project you would uses is the release build. But if makeapp.exe could accept a debug or release buold ticked, then the simulator could have been supported.

2. A files is both 32/64bit as required by Apple.

3. You can in the xcode build still change settings to add armv7 and arm64 code when you compile your cpp files, glbasic generate (now required to avoid having two xcode projects). So you can checkout either 32bit and 64bit on same device. If you example want to compile on iPad 1, 64bit is required to been disabled (which is still supported).
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation - The beagle Jam - Cave Heroes 2023 - https://spacefractal.itch.io/

MrPlow

Wow! Sounds really good!
Maybe i will get a iOS version of some of my apps out after all!
Comp:
Speccy-48k, Speccy-128k, Amigas, PCs

mrplant

"But if makeapp.exe could accept a debug or release build ticked, then the simulator could have been supported."

Quick question - what is makeaoo,exe and would it be possible to alter it to accept a debug build, hence allowing the simulator to work?

mrplant

Yet another question...

So IOS builds can now be true native 64 bit due to all the work done...

What about other platforms going forward? Will it be easy to modify GLBasic to produce 64 bit code for say Windows?

Any advantages to doing so?

Marmor

why ? you use > 3,7 Gigabyte ?

its not easy to support win and mac with 64 bit , and i dont think this is needed atm.

spacefractal

For Windows it's also require new compiles, but don't thinks it's really hard.

If release or debug tag was added as argument to make app.exe then simulator could been added.

Now I'm might not answer before next week due vacation trip
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation - The beagle Jam - Cave Heroes 2023 - https://spacefractal.itch.io/