My results compiling for iOS7

Previous topic - Next topic

mrplant

I have been doing a lot of testing with my app.

Here is my setup.

I run Mountain Lion. As an Apple developer I wanted to install iOS7 and the associated Xcode beta - therefore I am running iOS 7 Beta 3 on my iPhone 5 and iPad 3. I am running Xcode5-DP3.

I cannot use Xcode 4 to compile any more as the iOS7 devices are too new for it and are not recognised.

I wanted to use GLBASIC 10.283 to compile my Game.

First some background info.

I have my game Rock Crush compiled and on the App store for few years now - last update earlier this year.

When I first installled iOS7 - betas 1 and 2 - I ran this App store version of Rock Crush to see how it ran.

It had a major issue in that I pan sound far left and far right in my game - when the man moved left to right all was ok - moving right to left - I failed to hear him walk.

I did a lot of research - eventually noticing that when I plugged in a set of stereo headphones this issue cleared up.

I concluded that there was a problem in the first beta that game sound was using the left channel audio instead of mixing it down for the iphone and ipad internal speaker. strangely music playback didnt have this issue.

Anyway, I reported this bug to Apple and it got sorted in Beta 3.

I can now run my app store version of the game on iOS 7 devices with no problem.

The problem begins when I want to do a new version!

I will keep this short.

I compile with version 10.283 and then into Xcode 5.

The app runs with what looks like a green rectangle in the upper right hand corner and the screen is reported by the app at the wrong size.

For example, this code:

GETSCREENSIZE XRes,YRes // Get Screen size as defined in Project Settings.

comes back with a YRes 40 pixels short on both the iPad and iPhone.