GLBasic forum

Main forum => Bug Reports => Topic started by: SnooPI on 2020-Mar-07

Title: Strange... (windows 64bit issues)
Post by: SnooPI on 2020-Mar-07
It's strange, but my programs are slower in 64-bit version than in 32-bit  :(
Is it the same for others?

In addition there are lots of unpleasant little bug difficult to explain (especially in English) with the Steam version (base font, distribute folder, etc..)
I admit that I am disappointed with this version... I am even starting to turn to BlitzMax  :(

Right now, I prefer to stay with my 32-bit version for GLB.
Title: Re: Strange...
Post by: Qedo on 2020-Mar-07
it is true there is a huge difference.
With my Flag program:
500fps 32bit
6fps 64bit
It seems that in 64 it runs in debug mode
Ciao
Title: Re: Strange...
Post by: spacefractal on 2020-Mar-07
Windows or android? Android seems fine and is compiled directly from android studio. Im did do newer compiled to 64 win thought.

I'm do seen sometimes strange slowdowns even in 32bit more. Most of them came from the joy commnad when no joysticks was connected.
Title: Re: Strange...
Post by: Qedo on 2020-Mar-07
the results are in Windows. For Android I still have to understand how to compile with android  studio
Title: Re: Strange...
Post by: spacefractal on 2020-Mar-07
im gonna think the slowdown issue could been somewhat because ?IFDEF WIN32 is NOT used for the Window 64bit version at all? Greedy Mouse slowdown to 30fps default in 64bit version, unless im using ?IFDEF WIN64.

This can also break some combatible?

Howover Genius Greedy Mouse do ran perfectly when im did this change in the program.

Code (glbasic) Select

?DEFINE DESKTOP

?IFDEF ANDROID
?UNDEF DESKTOP
?ENDIF

?IFDEF WIN64
?DEFINE WIN32
?ENDIF


As least that way im have used them in that game. Howover there is a lots of define used in the glbasic source, so its could been a possible issue as its used WIN64 rather than WIN32? If you ask me, both should have been defined.

Howover its a quite annoying the 64bit version uses same file as the 32bit version, rather creating own 64bit. Im will rename this typic to 64bit issues.

Howover im dont mean the base font and base font, distribute folder has been changed at all?

Another issue you can only have one instance for the steam version, but this can been overcome easyl: Just right click on the taskbar and choose a random project. Then its open a new one.
Title: Re: Strange... (windows 64bit issues)
Post by: Qedo on 2020-Mar-07
Great, tried and OK  :good:
Thank you
Title: Re: Strange... (windows 64bit issues)
Post by: erico on 2020-Mar-07
I heard the 64b win is still a work in progress.
Title: Re: Strange... (windows 64bit issues)
Post by: SnooPI on 2020-Mar-08
Yes I think so too...
This is one of the reasons (with also the fact of having to go through Steam) that I prefer to stay for the moment with the 32-bit version for professional development.

Quote from: Qedo
500fps 32bit
6fps 64bit
:O  The difference is huge.

Quote from: spacefractal
Windows or android? Android seems fine and is compiled directly from android studio. Im did do newer compiled to 64 win thought.
I haven't tested android yet.

Quote from: spacefractal
Howover its a quite annoying the 64bit version uses same file as the 32bit version, rather creating own 64bit. Im will rename this typic to 64bit issues.

Howover im dont mean the base font and base font, distribute folder has been changed at all?
Yes I agree.
For example, it would appear that the fonts are enlarged, which creates artifacts with the basic font used in the 32-bit version.

Thank you all for your answers, I would try to redo other tests with the 64-bit version to see the problems and explain them well.
And I risk having others because I mainly do 3D and I already had plenty with the 32-bit version  ;)

Title: Re: Strange... (windows 64bit issues)
Post by: spacefractal on 2020-Mar-08
im do have newer used the official font system and commands, but have perfered to use my own here, based on polyvectors. This gave much better result when scaling is covered. Im do even think im did a code snippet for that in the snippet forum for many years ago as well.

So im dont have this issue, but the main thing is the official font commands is often most do it for debugging thing. Here im would not care which font its actuelly used, because they been removed anyway in the final code.
Title: Re: Strange... (windows 64bit issues)
Post by: SnooPI on 2020-Mar-08
Yes it's a good idea.
But as I said at the start, these are not big problems but unpleasant little bugs.

I specify that today I did not discover more problem in 3D than in 32 bits (apart from the slowdown of course) ... this is good news for 3D developers  :)
I hope it will continue.
Title: Re: Strange... (windows 64bit issues)
Post by: Qedo on 2020-Mar-09
@SnooPI
after this adding suggested by SF:

?DEFINE DESKTOP
?IFDEF ANDROID
   ?UNDEF DESKTOP
?ENDIF
?IFDEF WIN64
   ?DEFINE WIN32
?ENDIF

500fps 64bit
Title: Re: Strange... (windows 64bit issues)
Post by: SnooPI on 2020-Mar-10
Yes but it's not very logical to have to put a WIN32 DEFINE during the compilation in 64 bits.

But this is good news for your program  :good:
Title: Re: Strange... (windows 64bit issues)
Post by: spacefractal on 2020-Mar-10
Win32 should have been a Windows really. But can't change it due combatible of course. Moved to the bug forum. Im thinks the best fix should been in stdafx.h in the source code tree to perform this automatic.

In this define Win64 does stays, but also define Win32 too.
Title: Re: Strange... (windows 64bit issues)
Post by: bigsofty on 2020-Mar-10
The 64bit command line options are ignored too, they use the 32bit ones even if you select a 64bit compile.
Title: Re: Strange... (windows 64bit issues)
Post by: spacefractal on 2020-Mar-10
this is something im do cant look what happens, but more Gernot can here. But as its a bug im moved to the bug forum.