Author Topic: BallZ Beta (again)  (Read 6089 times)

MrTAToad

  • Guest
BallZ Beta (again)
« on: 2011-Nov-08 »
Update (V000.002)
Now implemented an option that lets the user decide whether to use the machines system pointer or not, which should sort out the Windows tablet problem.  Split screen should be working for 2 or 4 players (3 hasn't been implemented yet)
Download : http://www.mediafire.com/file/0e6uwd2o5s5gdxo/BallZ.app.rar

Got a working BallZ beta program running properly now :)

It can be downloaded here : http://www.mediafire.com/?5ef79gmgs64bd20

And a video :

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9EgUik6W5wI" target="_blank">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9EgUik6W5wI</a>

I have noticed that if the program starts stuttering due to some other program, it will eventually crash after a while for some reason...

The object of the game is simple : avoid all red striped objects, collect the green ones (but doing so with make your health decrease faster) and collect other ballz when needed...

Split screen isn't currently working at the moment unfortunately...



[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: 2011-Nov-11 by MrTAToad »

Offline ampos

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1594
    • View Profile
    • AMpostata Website
Re: BallZ Beta (again)
« Reply #1 on: 2011-Nov-08 »
lol, the wah-wah game over sound is on my "magic coin box" :-)
check my web and/or my blog :D
http://diniplay.blogspot.com (devblog)
http://www.ampostata.org
http://ampostata.blogspot.com
I own PC-Win, MacBook 13", iPhone 3G/3GS/4G and iPAC-WinCE

Offline erico

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 4186
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: BallZ Beta (again)
« Reply #2 on: 2011-Nov-08 »
looks great, I will give a try later today or tomorrow, work going on now :(

About the video, the first intro ball can benefit from a higher resolution image map.
Congrats!

MrTAToad

  • Guest
Re: BallZ Beta (again)
« Reply #3 on: 2011-Nov-08 »
lol, the wah-wah game over sound is on my "magic coin box" :-)
Sounds like you've got the same sample then :)

Code: GLBasic [Select]
About the video, the first intro ball can benefit from a higher resolution image map.
Its random, and would required 20+ new images to do that :)  Dont forget the lighting problem too :)

Offline kanonet

  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 1142
    • View Profile
    • My GLBasic code archiv
Re: BallZ Beta (again)
« Reply #4 on: 2011-Nov-09 »
Strange, i cant test that game, it just crashes immediately.
Lenovo Thinkpad T430u: Intel i5-3317U, 8GB DDR3, NVidia GeForce 620M, Micron RealSSD C400 @Win7 x64

MrTAToad

  • Guest
Re: BallZ Beta (again)
« Reply #5 on: 2011-Nov-09 »
If there is no initial window, then perhaps you need the latest Visual Studio runtime or to update your drivers...

Offline Kitty Hello

  • code monkey
  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 10697
  • here on my island the sea says 'hello'
    • View Profile
    • http://www.glbasic.com
Re: BallZ Beta (again)
« Reply #6 on: 2011-Nov-09 »
GLBasic does not have any runtime library requirements other than what is shipped with Win98 or 2k.

MrTAToad

  • Guest
Re: BallZ Beta (again)
« Reply #7 on: 2011-Nov-09 »
Good point!  In which case, there must be an error condition that the program detects, but has no message for...

If possible, can you record what happens kanonet ?

Think I have found the problem!
« Last Edit: 2011-Nov-09 by MrTAToad »

Offline kanonet

  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 1142
    • View Profile
    • My GLBasic code archiv
Re: BallZ Beta (again)
« Reply #8 on: 2011-Nov-09 »
Like Kitty i dont believe in a library problem, other GLB apps run without problems.

It i doubleclick the .exe i see small black window for less than a sec and than its gone - crashed to desktop.

Ok, i wait for your update, will test it than.
Btw what is your target platform? How should players control it later, mouse or touchscreen? I have a win7 tablet, if you want, i can test how it works on a touchscreen (i wish GLB would support win7 multitouch soon).
Lenovo Thinkpad T430u: Intel i5-3317U, 8GB DDR3, NVidia GeForce 620M, Micron RealSSD C400 @Win7 x64

MrTAToad

  • Guest
Re: BallZ Beta (again)
« Reply #9 on: 2011-Nov-09 »
Its joystick and mouse.  I suspect you didn't have any joysticks which was causing the problem...

It'll be for Windows desktop and Linux at the moment, although it would be interesting to see if it works on a tablet as it is (I suspect it wont ).  I can get it going on Android, but my phone is too slow to make it playable...

If you can try this version and see if it works (it should do as I have removed the check for 0 joysticks...)

Split screen should be working now (although at the moment only a horizontal split has been used).

Its currently set to throw out the Wonky Camera collectable :)

Here is the download link : http://www.mediafire.com/?cqyqlcxy15jf36y
« Last Edit: 2011-Nov-09 by MrTAToad »

Offline kanonet

  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 1142
    • View Profile
    • My GLBasic code archiv
Re: BallZ Beta (again)
« Reply #10 on: 2011-Nov-09 »
I think having no Joystick was the Problem, no it works.
Just found out, that i cant use it on my tablet, tabbing on the screen got totally ignored, even in the menu. :'(

The Program runs with 150-500 FPS, can you plz,plz limit the FPS by using SLEEP to give back prozessortime? My i5 runs fullspeed, heats up to 75+°C and my fan runs full speed... Not to mention the used (battery-) power. Your game spots (i really like it!) had same issue.
Lenovo Thinkpad T430u: Intel i5-3317U, 8GB DDR3, NVidia GeForce 620M, Micron RealSSD C400 @Win7 x64

MrTAToad

  • Guest
Re: BallZ Beta (again)
« Reply #11 on: 2011-Nov-09 »
It will use sleep if the time between each frame is too quick.  Adding SLEEP impacts on performance too...

I'm surprised the menu didn't work - obviously the display isn't treated as mouse input...

Offline Wampus

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1004
    • View Profile
Re: BallZ Beta (again)
« Reply #12 on: 2011-Nov-09 »
That wah-wah sound is harsh dude.  :'(

MrTAToad

  • Guest
Re: BallZ Beta (again)
« Reply #13 on: 2011-Nov-09 »
I know  =D

Offline Wampus

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1004
    • View Profile
Re: BallZ Beta (again)
« Reply #14 on: 2011-Nov-09 »
Found a minor issue. If the resolution is set to something like 320x240 then in the settings page it is changed to 800x600, if you return to the video settings without clicking the tick button the DD-GUI window is resized in a strange way which prevents changes being made.