BASIC

Author Topic: HP TouchPad - Device not detected  (Read 13211 times)

Offline Millerszone

  • Dr. Type
  • ****
  • Posts: 307
  • www.smashedfly.com
    • View Profile
    • Smashed Fly
HP TouchPad - Device not detected
« on: 2011-Aug-03 »
I received the TouchPad today.

I followed the instructions just like for the Palm:
http://www.glbasic.com/xmlhelp.php?lang=en&id=395&action=view

But when I get to this part ("In the directory "C:\Prog...\GLBasic\compiler\platform\webos\tool\bin\novaterm\"
double click the file "pdk-device-install.bat", now. The program should copy the required files to your device now.
If there is an error, please contact us in the GLBasic.com forums.)

I get("Error: No device detected. Connect device and make sure Developer Mode is enabled.")

I'm in the Touchpad's Developers mode and the PC detects that it is connected.

When I connect the palm it works with no problems.

Any suggestions?

Hardware: iMac 27", MacBook Air, PC 3.5Ghz Quad
Developing Tools: GLBasic SDK, Gideros Studio, PureBasic
Developing for: iOS, Android, Windows, OS X, webOS, HTML5

MrTAToad

  • Guest
Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
« Reply #1 on: 2011-Aug-03 »
Are you using XP or Windows Vista/7 ?

I suspect novacom needs updated

Code: GLBasic [Select]
for /f " usebackq tokens=*" %%i in (`novacom -l`) do set DEVICELIST=%%i
« Last Edit: 2011-Aug-03 by MrTAToad »

Offline Millerszone

  • Dr. Type
  • ****
  • Posts: 307
  • www.smashedfly.com
    • View Profile
    • Smashed Fly
Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
« Reply #2 on: 2011-Aug-03 »
Windows 7 64-bit and GLBasic 10.057
Hardware: iMac 27", MacBook Air, PC 3.5Ghz Quad
Developing Tools: GLBasic SDK, Gideros Studio, PureBasic
Developing for: iOS, Android, Windows, OS X, webOS, HTML5

MrTAToad

  • Guest
Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
« Reply #3 on: 2011-Aug-03 »
Can you run (with the Tablet connected) :

Code: GLBasic [Select]
novacom -l

from the command line and see what it says.  I suspect it won't be :

roadrunner-linux, castle-linux, pixie-linux or emulator

Offline Millerszone

  • Dr. Type
  • ****
  • Posts: 307
  • www.smashedfly.com
    • View Profile
    • Smashed Fly
Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
« Reply #4 on: 2011-Aug-03 »
Working now. rebooted touchpad turned off and on developer mode and now connects.

Screen is in the bottom left corner. I'll do more test and post some pics.
Also noticed sound plays fast.

Hardware: iMac 27", MacBook Air, PC 3.5Ghz Quad
Developing Tools: GLBasic SDK, Gideros Studio, PureBasic
Developing for: iOS, Android, Windows, OS X, webOS, HTML5

Offline Millerszone

  • Dr. Type
  • ****
  • Posts: 307
  • www.smashedfly.com
    • View Profile
    • Smashed Fly
Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
« Reply #5 on: 2011-Aug-03 »
The screen capture below is what the TouchPad looks like when I try to compile for WebOS at screen
size 320x480 and 768x1024, of coarse all of the buttons don't work since screen is not centered.
Sound did play.

So, next I downloaded "Hit the Deck Baseball" for the pre(320x480) from the App Catalog, everything worked o.k
but the the bat swing and ball moment was not as smooth as on the old palm pre.
Sound was o.k. Network also worked for the high scores.

I also tried adding "uiRevision": 2 to the appinfo.json file, but no difference to the graphics.
(The uiRevision key tells WebOS that your app is capable of running full-screen on a TouchPad,
avoiding the annoying phone emulator.)

So if I download an app from the App Catalog that was compiled with an older version of GLBasic
the graphics are scaled and centered, but if re-compile with GLB 10.057 and install the ipk the
screen is shown in the bottom left corner when screen size is set to 320x480 or 768x1024.

Oh and Pre version of Dr. Shiver plays nice.

So far I'm really impressed with the TouchPad.

Here is a good page to read: webOS 2.0(mojo) to webOS 3.0(enyo)
http://beckism.com/2011/07/webos-mojo-to-enyo/

« Last Edit: 2011-Aug-03 by Millerszone »
Hardware: iMac 27", MacBook Air, PC 3.5Ghz Quad
Developing Tools: GLBasic SDK, Gideros Studio, PureBasic
Developing for: iOS, Android, Windows, OS X, webOS, HTML5

MrTAToad

  • Guest
Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
« Reply #6 on: 2011-Aug-03 »
Looks like there may need to be an additional compiler option for the Tablet - or possibly there is a screen bug :)

Offline Millerszone

  • Dr. Type
  • ****
  • Posts: 307
  • www.smashedfly.com
    • View Profile
    • Smashed Fly
Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
« Reply #7 on: 2011-Aug-03 »
I tried an older version of GLBasic, but made no difference.

I'll be glad to test some ipk's
Hardware: iMac 27", MacBook Air, PC 3.5Ghz Quad
Developing Tools: GLBasic SDK, Gideros Studio, PureBasic
Developing for: iOS, Android, Windows, OS X, webOS, HTML5

MrTAToad

  • Guest
Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
« Reply #8 on: 2011-Aug-03 »
Shall I email my one to you ?

Offline Millerszone

  • Dr. Type
  • ****
  • Posts: 307
  • www.smashedfly.com
    • View Profile
    • Smashed Fly
Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
« Reply #9 on: 2011-Aug-03 »
Sure can. mike (°) millerszone (dt) com
« Last Edit: 2011-Aug-18 by Kitty Hello »
Hardware: iMac 27", MacBook Air, PC 3.5Ghz Quad
Developing Tools: GLBasic SDK, Gideros Studio, PureBasic
Developing for: iOS, Android, Windows, OS X, webOS, HTML5

MrTAToad

  • Guest
Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
« Reply #10 on: 2011-Aug-03 »
I'll send my Sprite Speed Tester first as that one doesn't use SETSCREEN

By the way, does the tablet just have one screen resolution (1024x768) or is there a 768x1024 ?
« Last Edit: 2011-Aug-03 by MrTAToad »

Offline Millerszone

  • Dr. Type
  • ****
  • Posts: 307
  • www.smashedfly.com
    • View Profile
    • Smashed Fly
Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
« Reply #11 on: 2011-Aug-03 »
o.k tested. Display in bottom left corner, with the home button on top, the iPad is on the bottom.

Could not see the FPS, since it was on the left.

Hardware: iMac 27", MacBook Air, PC 3.5Ghz Quad
Developing Tools: GLBasic SDK, Gideros Studio, PureBasic
Developing for: iOS, Android, Windows, OS X, webOS, HTML5

MrTAToad

  • Guest
Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
« Reply #12 on: 2011-Aug-03 »
Yes, its certainly using the default resolution in the project :)

Offline Millerszone

  • Dr. Type
  • ****
  • Posts: 307
  • www.smashedfly.com
    • View Profile
    • Smashed Fly
Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
« Reply #13 on: 2011-Aug-03 »
Why if I download "Hit the Deck Baseball", Dr Shivers or B'lox from the HP App Catalog the games fills the screen nicely.

Could HP be changing something before sending apps to the App Catalog?
« Last Edit: 2011-Aug-03 by Millerszone »
Hardware: iMac 27", MacBook Air, PC 3.5Ghz Quad
Developing Tools: GLBasic SDK, Gideros Studio, PureBasic
Developing for: iOS, Android, Windows, OS X, webOS, HTML5

MrTAToad

  • Guest
Re: HP TouchPad - Device not detected
« Reply #14 on: 2011-Aug-04 »
I dont think so - I suspect there may be a bug somewhere... :)