Author Topic: Not for iPad...  (Read 2166 times)

Offline ampos

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1594
    • View Profile
    • AMpostata Website
Not for iPad...
« on: 2011-Apr-22 »
Today I have discovered that none of my apps are 'installable on ipad'.

The firsts ones were just non-retina apps but the latest one was designed for iPad also. Does someone knows what has gone wrong? Any Xcode setting I forgot to set?

The thing that gets me mordant angry was that in the latest one in 'note for the reviewer' I asked him to chech for iPad/universal compatibility. Bastards.
check my web and/or my blog :D
http://diniplay.blogspot.com (devblog)
http://www.ampostata.org
http://ampostata.blogspot.com
I own PC-Win, MacBook 13", iPhone 3G/3GS/4G and iPAC-WinCE

Offline Dabz

  • Mr. Polyvector
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
    • View Profile
    • BambooCoder
Re: Not for iPad...
« Reply #1 on: 2011-Apr-23 »
Not sure how that worked really!?!

I only released Nags Heed Darts a couple of weeks ago and done nothing special with it in xCode, just cloned the release config, changed the certificate in that to Distribution, changed the signing thing to "Any OS" (Or whatever its called), built/archived->Submitted->Done!!!

Dabz

Offline ampos

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1594
    • View Profile
    • AMpostata Website
Re: Not for iPad...
« Reply #2 on: 2011-Apr-23 »
I mean that app store says 'this app can not be installed on your devuce' (iPad).

(Which release config?)
check my web and/or my blog :D
http://diniplay.blogspot.com (devblog)
http://www.ampostata.org
http://ampostata.blogspot.com
I own PC-Win, MacBook 13", iPhone 3G/3GS/4G and iPAC-WinCE

Offline matchy

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1542
    • View Profile
Re: Not for iPad...
« Reply #3 on: 2011-Apr-23 »
The only default changes required for a universal app is:

Xcode / Configuration (Project) / Deployment (Setting) / Targeted Device Family = iPhone/iPad

and I some iPad screenshots in iTunes Connect.

If this is your case, it would be interesting to know if an app can be updated to universal.


Example:


Bastards.

You mad?  :sick:
« Last Edit: 2011-Apr-23 by matchy »

Offline Dabz

  • Mr. Polyvector
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
    • View Profile
    • BambooCoder
Re: Not for iPad...
« Reply #4 on: 2011-Apr-23 »
Quote
(Which release config?)

I'm on XP at the minute, but, can you see matchys  screenie, where it says Configuration: [Debug], if you click the arrow, you should have release or something similar...

Basically, I do nowt special, just like what I mentioned above, I dont even change the 'Target Device Family' thingy that Matchy mentioned, just the signings... And mine works, and I can confirm my games run on an iPad because my older brother bought them for his.

Though, I have noticed matchy has his base SDK set at 3.2, where in xCode this is missing and I have to change that to 4.{x} (Cannot check exactly at the minute)

Dabz
« Last Edit: 2011-Apr-23 by Dabz »

Offline Ian Price

  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 4144
  • On the shoulders of giants.
    • View Profile
    • My Apps
Re: Not for iPad...
« Reply #5 on: 2011-Apr-23 »
Quote
I can confirm my games run on an iPad because my older brother bought them for his.
You made your own bro pay for your app? That's mean and low-down; tell me how you did it so I can convince my sister to buy my apps! ;) :P
I came. I saw. I played.

Offline matchy

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1542
    • View Profile
Re: Not for iPad...
« Reply #6 on: 2011-Apr-23 »
Quote
.. I have noticed matchy has his base SDK set at 3.2, ...

Dude, I'm too lazy to take screenshot so that's just one I found on Google images search.  :-[

Offline ampos

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1594
    • View Profile
    • AMpostata Website
Re: Not for iPad...
« Reply #7 on: 2011-Apr-25 »
The only default changes required for a universal app is:

Xcode / Configuration (Project) / Deployment (Setting) / Targeted Device Family = iPhone/iPad

and I some iPad screenshots in iTunes Connect.

If this is your case, it would be interesting to know if an app can be updated to universal.

I forgot to set this, but also I thought that any iphone app will work on iPad, and so they will be set by default. Sincerely, I see no sense in the need to set any (old) iOS 320x480 program to "work on iPad", as they will work on 2x zoom mode.

Well, I have update the xcode thing and sent to apple the new binaries.

Notice that I have 2 different updates:

-A 320x480 app (so, it really is not universal)

-A real universal app, that works in 320x480, 640x960 and 768x1024 resolution.

In a week we will have news.
check my web and/or my blog :D
http://diniplay.blogspot.com (devblog)
http://www.ampostata.org
http://ampostata.blogspot.com
I own PC-Win, MacBook 13", iPhone 3G/3GS/4G and iPAC-WinCE

Offline XanthorXIII

  • Mr. Polyvector
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
    • View Profile
Re: Not for iPad...
« Reply #8 on: 2011-Apr-25 »
Unfortunately I think this requires one to get the devices the plan to run their games on so they can test before release. It's part of the cost of development however I can feel your pain if you don't have an iPad ether, those things cost too much. I'll probably wait until they are on Woot or Apple to get a refurbed.
In the mean time I'll probably have to do the same thing.
Owlcat has wise

Offline ampos

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1594
    • View Profile
    • AMpostata Website
Re: Not for iPad...
« Reply #9 on: 2011-Apr-30 »
My apps 'magic coin box' and 'magic coin box free' are now updated. They should be shown on AppStore for iPad also. Can someone check the AppStore on his iPad? Search for 'diniplay', please.
check my web and/or my blog :D
http://diniplay.blogspot.com (devblog)
http://www.ampostata.org
http://ampostata.blogspot.com
I own PC-Win, MacBook 13", iPhone 3G/3GS/4G and iPAC-WinCE