BASIC

Author Topic: CrackShot now available  (Read 3401 times)

Offline codegit

  • Dr. Type
  • ****
  • Posts: 270
    • View Profile
CrackShot now available
« on: 2009-Nov-13 »
Hi All

CrackShot (Our first iPhone game) is now available for the iPhone/iTouch in the Apple store. Reviews are welcome (please be kind)  :-[

With special thanks to Gernot.  :booze:

« Last Edit: 2009-Nov-13 by codegit »
------------------------------------------
1 X Acer TravelMate 4270, laptop, XP PRO
1 X Dell Studio 17 laptop, Windows 7
1 X MacBook Pro 2,2 GHz Core 2 Duo, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD, 9400M
2 X iTouch
1 X HTC Desire (Android 2.1)
iPad soon to be added

Offline freshworks

  • Mc. Print
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: CrackShot now available
« Reply #1 on: 2009-Nov-13 »
Nice,

Bought it at the appstore! It shows a good representation of what GLB can do on the iphone, plays also great, controls are well listening to my fingerinput. Also nice graphics! Congratulations

2 thingy's :

1. Have you used a default.png, it takes a while to show up the first screen, default.png is instant
2. Nice to make the menuitems ontouchover or something, so it shows another color or something when you go over the button
3. The Musicnote doesn't turn of the soundeffects, only the playing music

Some questions:

- How did you do the particles behind the pumpkin
- How did you integrated Pause, does it also pause when you get a caller?
- Would you like to share any of your touch routines integrated in this game

Cheers and good luck with this game,
Freshworks

Offline Kitty Hello

  • code monkey
  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 10723
  • here on my island the sea says 'hello'
    • View Profile
    • http://www.glbasic.com
Re: CrackShot now available
« Reply #2 on: 2009-Nov-13 »
Yes, bought it too. It's really nice.

Offline kaotiklabs

  • Dr. Type
  • ****
  • Posts: 313
  • Spain is diferent
    • View Profile
Re: CrackShot now available
« Reply #3 on: 2009-Nov-13 »
1. Have you used a default.png, it takes a while to show up the first screen, default.png is instant

Sorry, can you explain this?
Can you set a  default.png for instant splash screen? Never heard this.
Vote Cthulhu! Because the stars are right!!!!
Ia Ia Cthulhu F' tang!

Offline freshworks

  • Mc. Print
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: CrackShot now available
« Reply #4 on: 2009-Nov-13 »
What you want to do is just creating your splash screen image in PNG format which have 320×480 resolution for portrait or 480×320 if your app is running on landscape orientation.

Then name it “Default.png”, please note that you have to name it “Default.png” not “default.png”. It’s case sensitive.

Then just put the file into your project and it’s DONE!
« Last Edit: 2009-Nov-13 by freshworks »

Offline codegit

  • Dr. Type
  • ****
  • Posts: 270
    • View Profile
Re: CrackShot now available
« Reply #5 on: 2009-Nov-13 »
Thank you guys so much for the reviews, much appreciated.  :nw:

1) Yes I totally agree it takes too long to show the splash screen. Would you believe that it is me actually pausing the program that is giving the perception that it is taking long to load. (I will fix...thanks)
2) I will add the ability to stop sounds as well.
3) The smoke trail is simply a single smoke particle placed at positions following the pumpkin, giving the impression of smoke. (nothing really clever)
4) Agree, menu items should be highlighted. (just me being lazy)
5) I am not sure about pause as I do not have an iPhone, but it literally just skips gameplay and stops all updates and screen refreshes. (Once again nothing clever)
6) When I have something more mature with regards to touch library and sprite engine, I will share with the community if they want. I am no great programmer most of my stuff is really primitive.

 8)
------------------------------------------
1 X Acer TravelMate 4270, laptop, XP PRO
1 X Dell Studio 17 laptop, Windows 7
1 X MacBook Pro 2,2 GHz Core 2 Duo, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD, 9400M
2 X iTouch
1 X HTC Desire (Android 2.1)
iPad soon to be added

Offline Leginus

  • Dr. Type
  • ****
  • Posts: 288
    • View Profile
Re: CrackShot now available
« Reply #6 on: 2009-Nov-14 »
Hi.  I bought this yesterday.  I like it and have played it to wave 8 or 9 about 4 times now, however, I did expect to see something different to start to appear in the game.

Saying that, I really enjoyed it and think you have done a great job  :good:

Offline codegit

  • Dr. Type
  • ****
  • Posts: 270
    • View Profile
Re: CrackShot now available
« Reply #7 on: 2009-Nov-14 »
Hi.  I bought this yesterday.  I like it and have played it to wave 8 or 9 about 4 times now, however, I did expect to see something different to start to appear in the game.

Saying that, I really enjoyed it and think you have done a great job  :good:

Thank you very much for buying the game.  :nw:  I also agree, and I am busy adding lots more to the game in terms of game play and additional features (bonus levels, extra bosses etc). I am not sure how you do it, or if you can, but I want to give a free upgrade to all that purchased with all the new features. Which are going to be very coooooool.  ;)
« Last Edit: 2009-Nov-14 by codegit »
------------------------------------------
1 X Acer TravelMate 4270, laptop, XP PRO
1 X Dell Studio 17 laptop, Windows 7
1 X MacBook Pro 2,2 GHz Core 2 Duo, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD, 9400M
2 X iTouch
1 X HTC Desire (Android 2.1)
iPad soon to be added