BASIC

Author Topic: Problem with opening the helpfile  (Read 35210 times)

MrTAToad

  • Guest
Re: Problem with opening the helpfile
« Reply #30 on: 2010-Aug-31 »
After installing it, I just double-click on a CHM file to run it :)

Offline Ian Price

  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 4128
  • On the shoulders of giants.
    • View Profile
    • My Apps
Re: Problem with opening the helpfile
« Reply #31 on: 2010-Aug-31 »
I can run .CHM files normally by themselves from outside of GLB, but when clicking F1 from GLB to read the helpfile I have to double click the actual command I want to read, as it brings up "This program cannot display the webpage" error.

Is this not what others have been talking about?
I came. I saw. I played.

MrTAToad

  • Guest
Re: Problem with opening the helpfile
« Reply #32 on: 2010-Sep-01 »
Originally, no :)

Offline Ian Price

  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 4128
  • On the shoulders of giants.
    • View Profile
    • My Apps
Re: Problem with opening the helpfile
« Reply #33 on: 2010-Sep-01 »
OK. As you were... :P
I came. I saw. I played.

MrTAToad

  • Guest
Re: Problem with opening the helpfile
« Reply #34 on: 2010-Sep-01 »
I've included my GLBasic Command List as a PDF file.  For some reason the exporting to PDF stopped at the 436 page, so there is a bit missing...

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: 2010-Sep-01 by MrTAToad »

Offline Kitty Hello

  • code monkey
  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 10661
  • here on my island the sea says 'hello'
    • View Profile
    • http://www.glbasic.com
Re: Problem with opening the helpfile
« Reply #35 on: 2010-Sep-02 »
I should put a wget job on that downloads the online help to a local form and distribute that. Would save me lots of work.

Offline Cliff3D

  • Dr. Type
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with opening the helpfile
« Reply #36 on: 2010-Sep-02 »
I can run .CHM files normally by themselves from outside of GLB, but when clicking F1 from GLB to read the helpfile I have to double click the actual command I want to read, as it brings up "This program cannot display the webpage" error.

Is this not what others have been talking about?

Not in the first post, no, but several of us have reported this issue here.


Offline Ian Price

  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 4128
  • On the shoulders of giants.
    • View Profile
    • My Apps
Re: Problem with opening the helpfile
« Reply #37 on: 2010-Sep-02 »
Quote
Not in the first post, no, but several of us have reported this issue here.
Didn't think I was going mad! :P
I came. I saw. I played.

MrTAToad

  • Guest
Re: Problem with opening the helpfile
« Reply #38 on: 2010-Sep-03 »
It would be nice if the help files went all HTML-like :)

Offline Cliff3D

  • Dr. Type
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with opening the helpfile
« Reply #39 on: 2010-Sep-03 »
Quote
Not in the first post, no, but several of us have reported this issue here.
Didn't think I was going mad! :P

You're lucky I don't know you well enough to say something cute like "you can't go to where you already are!". Very lucky. I'm probably even luckier.

It would be nice if the help files went all HTML-like :)

Seconded. We could also probably find it easier to submit updates/corrections then too.

Offline hardyx

  • Community Developer
  • Dr. Type
  • ******
  • Posts: 487
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with opening the helpfile
« Reply #40 on: 2012-Mar-13 »
CHM are compressed HTML files. Even there are programs for decompressing the HTML files.

Offline spicypixel

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 646
  • Pixel Artist
    • View Profile
    • SpicyPixel.net
Re: Problem with opening the helpfile
« Reply #41 on: 2012-Nov-23 »
Much prefer the HTML style help system. Not wanting to mention other packages but in Blitz2D or was it Plus there was a frame used for commands on the left and the info on the right :) Also an A-Z list could be shown instead and then subnav shown with commands starting with that letter. No Javascript even I dont think all HTML. Was very Nice.
http://www.spicypixel.net | http://www.facebook.com/SpicyPixel.NET

Comps Owned - ZX.81, ZX.48K, ZX.128K+2, Vic20, C64, Atari-ST, A500.600.1200, PC, Apple Mini-Mac.