Author Topic: .dbg() Question  (Read 2324 times)

Offline UBERmonkeybot

  • Mr. Polyvector
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
    • View Profile
.dbg() Question
« on: 2015-Oct-10 »
Hi,
I wonder if someone could tell me how to output .dbg() to STDOUT.
I am wanting to send it to android monitor for debugging purposes.

Thanks in advance

MrTAToad

  • Guest
Re: .dbg() Question
« Reply #1 on: 2015-Oct-11 »
Unfortunately you cant - it calls DEBUG for each field in the type.  However, DEBUG does sent text to the Android log file.

Offline UBERmonkeybot

  • Mr. Polyvector
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
    • View Profile
Re: .dbg() Question
« Reply #2 on: 2015-Oct-12 »
Thanks.

Offline UBERmonkeybot

  • Mr. Polyvector
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
    • View Profile
Re: .dbg() Question
« Reply #3 on: 2015-Nov-22 »
I don't appear to be able to output debug data to the Android Log.

By Andoid log i assume you mean adb logcat -s "glbasic"

It seems to only output to STDOUT and not DEBUG which means i cannot use .dbg() for android device debugging.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.


Thanks



Offline spacefractal

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 3678
    • View Profile
    • Space Fractal
Re: .dbg() Question
« Reply #4 on: 2015-Nov-22 »
only STDOUT works on Android as well on iOS.

Personally im want DEBUG command deprecated, because the DEBUG command did conflicted with some newer compilers, example with xCode. As im aware they does pretty much extractly the same thing, so im wonder why.

There is also a _Logview.bat you can start to checkout the log in Compiler/platform/Android/bin.

Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - Android Extras - is on a vacation trip, home before end of few days in jan.

Offline UBERmonkeybot

  • Mr. Polyvector
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
    • View Profile
Re: .dbg() Question
« Reply #5 on: 2015-Nov-22 »
I just did it longhand in the end

e.g.

Code: GLBasic [Select]
        STDOUT q
        STDOUT "x "+obs[q].x
        STDOUT "y "+obs[q].y
 

etc etc.

It does seem a bit silly to have 2 commands that do pretty much the same thing,I am sure it will get deprecated at some point.
Can you use STDOUT to debug windows code?(e.g. in the output panel in the editor.
« Last Edit: 2015-Nov-22 by monkeybot1968 »

Offline spacefractal

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 3678
    • View Profile
    • Space Fractal
Re: .dbg() Question
« Reply #6 on: 2015-Nov-23 »
its only make seance on Windows really, not on other platforms.

But im did indeeded have issues with DEBUG on iOS and commented it out in the source code.
Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - Android Extras - is on a vacation trip, home before end of few days in jan.