Author Topic: Using 3D and GRABSPRITE problem  (Read 1935 times)

Offline Paul Smith

  • Mr. Polyvector
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
Using 3D and GRABSPRITE problem
« on: 2014-Jun-16 »
Hi All,

I'm having problems with GRABSPRITE, If I draw a 3D object in the centre of the screen and use  GRABSPRITE then all is OK
but if I do a for next loop 5x and rotate the object + grab 5 sprites then only the first one works.
Ive printed text across the object to prove  that GRABSPRITE is working and it is
if i //grabsprite  then the object turns so that OK
It grabs the whole screen but I know it  works as this is how i written and a 2D unlimited sprites demo.

Any Ideas?


 FOR t = 1 TO 5
X_MAKE3D 1, 50, 45
PRINT t, 400, 300
xxx = xxx + 5
//yyy = yyy + 0.5
X_CAMERA 100 / 20, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
X_SETTEXTURE 1, 1
X_ROTATION xxx, xxx , xxx, zzz
X_DRAWOBJ 0,0
//IF xxx > 360 THEN xxx = 0
//X_SPOT_LT -1, 0, 0,0,50, 0,0,0,90
GRABSPRITE t, 0, 0, 800, 600
//SHOWSCREEN
//KEYWAIT
NEXT
KEYWAIT
t = 0
WHILE TRUE
ZOOMSPRITE t, 100, 100, 1.1, 1.1
t = t +1
IF t = 5 THEN t = 0
SHOWSCREEN
WEND
Amstrad CPC 6128, ATARI STE.
Acer  SW5-173 & AMD FX 8350/1050Ti

Offline msx

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 773
    • View Profile
Re: Using 3D and GRABSPRITE problem
« Reply #1 on: 2014-Jun-16 »
Yesterday I tried to make a screenshot in 3D mode using grabsprite, and windows work properly, but no android, just a blank screen.

Grabsprite is not very reliable.

Offline Paul Smith

  • Mr. Polyvector
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
Re: Using 3D and GRABSPRITE problem
« Reply #2 on: 2014-Jun-16 »
Never Had a problem with grabsprite in 2D windows, Just started messing with 3D and doing tricks that look quite technical but again just illusions. once this bit is figured out I'll upload this part ( old school demo effect ).
If worst comes to worst then I may have to SAVEBMP Then loadsprite. 
Amstrad CPC 6128, ATARI STE.
Acer  SW5-173 & AMD FX 8350/1050Ti

Offline kanonet

  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 1142
    • View Profile
    • My GLBasic code archiv
Re: Using 3D and GRABSPRITE problem
« Reply #3 on: 2014-Jun-17 »
You're wrong, GRABSPRITE works fine with 3D. I could not get your code to work, so I tested it by modifying this code from here and it works fine:
Code: GLBasic [Select]
// --------------------------------- //
// Project: Picktest
// Start: Monday, April 21, 2014
// IDE Version: 12.096



// use systempointer
SYSTEMPOINTER TRUE
SETSCREEN 800,480, 0



GLOBAL array[]
REDIM array[3][3][3]

// normal Cube
CreateCube(1,1,RGB(0x00, 0xff, 0x00))

// debug cube ( RED )
CreateCube(2,1.01,RGB(0xff, 0x00, 0x00))


// fill up
FOR x = 0 TO 2
        FOR y = 0 TO 2
                FOR z = 0 TO 2

                        array[x][y][z] = 1

                NEXT
        NEXT
NEXT




WHILE TRUE
        LOCAL mx,my,b1,b2
        LOCAL wx1#,wy1#,wz1#, wx2#,wy2#,wz2#    // screen2world variables
        LOCAL cx%,cy%,cz%                                               // collision-position in array
        LOCAL closest_coll# = 100                               // set max coll distance
        LOCAL coll                                                              // collision variable
        MOUSESTATE mx,my,b1,b2

        // make the window 3D and set up the Cam, position of the cam doesen't matter
        X_MAKE3D 1,1000,45
        X_CAMERA 5,5,-5, 0.7,0,1.5

        // 2 times screen2world, second is Z = 1 to set the direction !
        X_SCREEN2WORLD mx,my,0, wx1, wy1, wz1
        X_SCREEN2WORLD mx,my,1, wx2, wy2, wz2


        FOR x = 0 TO 2
                FOR y = 0 TO 2
                        FOR z = 0 TO 2

                                IF array[x][y][z]

                                        // move cube and draw
                                        X_MOVEMENT x, y, z
                                        X_DRAWOBJ 1, 0

                                        // check coll
                                        coll = X_COLLISIONRAY(1,0, wx1,wy1,wz1, wx2,wy2,wz2)    // shoot up the RAY
                                        IF coll
                                                IF closest_coll > coll  // is closest coll larger then coll then set as closest
                                                        closest_coll = coll

                                                        // save position in array
                                                        cx = x
                                                        cy = y
                                                        cz = z
                                                ENDIF

                                        ENDIF


                                ENDIF



                        NEXT
                NEXT
        NEXT
       
        GRABSPRITE 45, 0,0, 800,480

        // draw the debugcube
        IF closest_coll < 100
                X_MOVEMENT cx, cy, cz
                X_DRAWOBJ 2, 0
        ENDIF
        GRABSPRITE 46, 0,0, 800,480


        // some 2D stuff
        X_MAKE2D
       
        STRETCHSPRITE 45, 0,380,160,96
        STRETCHSPRITE 46, 200,380,160,96

        PRINT  "X: "+mx+" Y: "+my,10,10
        PRINT closest_coll,10,20
       
       
        GRABSPRITE 47, 0,0, 800,480
        STRETCHSPRITE 47, 400,380,160,96

SHOWSCREEN
WEND
END


// ------------------------------------------------------------- //
// -=#  CREATECUBE  #=-
// -= by KittyHello =-
// ------------------------------------------------------------- //
FUNCTION CreateCube: num, sz, col
        // Diese Variablen sind als LOCAL definiert:
        // num, sz,
        X_AUTONORMALS 1 // For a cube, hard edges
        sz=sz/2
        X_OBJSTART num
                // Front Face
                X_OBJADDVERTEX  sz, -sz,  sz, 1, 0, col
                X_OBJADDVERTEX -sz, -sz,  sz, 0, 0, col
                X_OBJADDVERTEX  sz,  sz,  sz, 1, 1, col
                X_OBJADDVERTEX -sz,  sz,  sz, 0, 1, col
                X_OBJNEWGROUP
                // Back Face
                X_OBJADDVERTEX -sz,  sz, -sz, 1, 1, col
                X_OBJADDVERTEX -sz, -sz, -sz, 1, 0, col
                X_OBJADDVERTEX  sz,  sz, -sz, 0, 1, col
                X_OBJADDVERTEX  sz, -sz, -sz, 0, 0, col
                X_OBJNEWGROUP
                // Top Face
                X_OBJADDVERTEX -sz,  sz,  sz, 0, 0, col
                X_OBJADDVERTEX -sz,  sz, -sz, 0, 1, col
                X_OBJADDVERTEX  sz,  sz,  sz, 1, 0, col
                X_OBJADDVERTEX  sz,  sz, -sz, 1, 1, col
                X_OBJNEWGROUP
                // Bottom Face
                X_OBJADDVERTEX  sz, -sz, -sz, 0, 1, col
                X_OBJADDVERTEX -sz, -sz, -sz, 1, 1, col
                X_OBJADDVERTEX  sz, -sz,  sz, 0, 0, col
                X_OBJADDVERTEX -sz, -sz,  sz, 1, 0, col
                X_OBJNEWGROUP
                // Right face
                X_OBJADDVERTEX  sz,  sz, -sz, 1, 1, col
                X_OBJADDVERTEX  sz, -sz, -sz, 1, 0, col
                X_OBJADDVERTEX  sz,  sz,  sz, 0, 1, col
                X_OBJADDVERTEX  sz, -sz,  sz, 0, 0, col
                X_OBJNEWGROUP
                // Left Face
                X_OBJADDVERTEX -sz, -sz,  sz, 1, 0, col
                X_OBJADDVERTEX -sz, -sz, -sz, 0, 0, col
                X_OBJADDVERTEX -sz,  sz,  sz, 1, 1, col
                X_OBJADDVERTEX -sz,  sz, -sz, 0, 1, col
                X_OBJNEWGROUP
        X_OBJEND

ENDFUNCTION // sz
(Yes it even works with multiple MAKE3Ds and no SHOWSCREEN, but this is not in this example here).

So you must have done something wrong and should try again/ rewrite your code. BTW even if GRABSPRITE would not work you could still try CREATESCREEN (but this has some problems with 3D IIRC, to bad many work that I did on bug reports got lost at forum crash).
Lenovo Thinkpad T430u: Intel i5-3317U, 8GB DDR3, NVidia GeForce 620M, Micron RealSSD C400 @Win7 x64

Offline Paul Smith

  • Mr. Polyvector
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
Re: Using 3D and GRABSPRITE problem
« Reply #4 on: 2014-Jun-17 »
Cheers Kanonet for the Example.

 I've tested your code and it works proving it was my code.
Ive just got my code working, and what I found was if I used GRABSPRITE in a  FOR/NEXT then it didn't work
but If i used WHILE TRUE/WEND then it did, not sure why.
hopefully I'll have time to finish my program tonight
Amstrad CPC 6128, ATARI STE.
Acer  SW5-173 & AMD FX 8350/1050Ti

Offline MrPlow

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1559
    • View Profile
Re: Using 3D and GRABSPRITE problem
« Reply #5 on: 2014-Jun-17 »
2nd for Create screen used it to replace grabsprite for one of my apps.
Comp:
Speccy-48k, Speccy-128k, Amigas, PCs

Offline matchy

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 1543
    • View Profile
Re: Using 3D and GRABSPRITE problem
« Reply #6 on: 2014-Jun-18 »
Instead of the fore-buffer for scratch work, I recommend preparing a large area by CREATESCREEN'n to reserve a blank memory sprite, then go ahead an drawn on that rather than GRABSPRITE'n!  :good:


Offline erico

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 4240
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: Using 3D and GRABSPRITE problem
« Reply #7 on: 2014-Jun-18 »
hmmm...I´d wish I understood it O_O