BASIC

Author Topic: Caanoo support  (Read 11108 times)

Offline erico

  • Community Developer
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 4218
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: Caanoo support
« Reply #15 on: 2011-Sep-20 »
This is great, caanoo seems to be a nice device.
at least one I can buy localy for around 150$.

I was wondering if it would be worth for me to purchase one,
or should I save to buy a mooooore expensive android on the hopes it could work out the same way?

For those who own it, how is it like?
Could you name the bads out of it?
I play a lot of arcades, rygar and fighting games, its control looks neat, is it precise?

it does look charming.
« Last Edit: 2011-Sep-20 by erico »

Offline hardyx

  • Community Developer
  • Dr. Type
  • ******
  • Posts: 491
    • View Profile
Re: Caanoo support
« Reply #16 on: 2011-Sep-21 »
For those who own it, how is it like?
Could you name the bads out of it?
I play a lot of arcades, rygar and fighting games, its control looks neat, is it precise?
Caanoo is like a GP2X in shape and size, but slimer and battery powered. If you don't owned a GP2X, is like a PSP slim with a 4:3 screen. The analog stick is good for arcade like MAME, and as precise as a d-pad.
Pros: rechargeable battery, many free apps, wifi support, 128 Mb RAM.
Cons: not compatible with Wiz, has a frame that covers first 3 pixels rows.

Offline Kitty Hello

  • code monkey
  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 10713
  • here on my island the sea says 'hello'
    • View Profile
    • http://www.glbasic.com
Re: Caanoo support
« Reply #17 on: 2011-Sep-21 »
it has a Wiz-support layer working like WINE on PC. So, it can perfectly play Wiz games.

Offline gigios

  • Mc. Print
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: Caanoo support
« Reply #18 on: 2011-Sep-21 »
it has a Wiz-support layer working like WINE on PC. So, it can perfectly play Wiz games.

This is true but in that case you can not use the G-Sensor and Vibration present only in Caanoo  :whistle:

Offline hardyx

  • Community Developer
  • Dr. Type
  • ******
  • Posts: 491
    • View Profile
Re: Caanoo support
« Reply #19 on: 2011-Sep-21 »
it has a Wiz-support layer working like WINE on PC. So, it can perfectly play Wiz games.
You are talking about GINGE I think.  :blink:
« Last Edit: 2011-Sep-23 by hardyx »

Offline Kitty Hello

  • code monkey
  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 10713
  • here on my island the sea says 'hello'
    • View Profile
    • http://www.glbasic.com
Re: Caanoo support
« Reply #20 on: 2011-Sep-21 »
ok, update is available (as a new setup).

The acceleration for Caanoo is gives as GETJOYX(1) and such (2nd Joystick device).
Vibration is missing.

Offline gigios

  • Mc. Print
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: Caanoo support
« Reply #21 on: 2011-Sep-21 »
Wonderful  :booze:

Vibration is missing.

There is some hope that this feature is added in the future? (ok, I know that is not necessary for write good games ;))

MrTAToad

  • Guest
Re: Caanoo support
« Reply #22 on: 2011-Sep-22 »
Is there a Caanoo emulator around anywhere ?

Offline Kitty Hello

  • code monkey
  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 10713
  • here on my island the sea says 'hello'
    • View Profile
    • http://www.glbasic.com
Re: Caanoo support
« Reply #23 on: 2011-Sep-22 »
nope, sorry. You can get them quite cheap, though. Around 100,-EUR new or try eBay for 2nd hand.

Offline hardyx

  • Community Developer
  • Dr. Type
  • ******
  • Posts: 491
    • View Profile
Re: Caanoo support
« Reply #24 on: 2011-Sep-23 »
Works good in Caanoo, but I almost became crazy because I copied the contents of Caanoo distribute directory and not worked. I have to copy the resources in Media to distribute directory and works all ok. I hate the new distribute folder!!! :(

Offline Kitty Hello

  • code monkey
  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 10713
  • here on my island the sea says 'hello'
    • View Profile
    • http://www.glbasic.com
Re: Caanoo support
« Reply #25 on: 2011-Sep-23 »
oops. Will copy Media on the next update. So sorry.

Offline hardyx

  • Community Developer
  • Dr. Type
  • ******
  • Posts: 491
    • View Profile
Re: Caanoo support
« Reply #26 on: 2011-Sep-23 »
I'ts only a small nuisance. You made a good work, thanks. :good:

BTW: I see in the executable header that you are using EABI v0 (wiz toolchain), not EABI v4 (caanoo toolchain), but works. This could not work in earlier Caanoo firmware versions.
« Last Edit: 2011-Sep-23 by hardyx »

Offline Kitty Hello

  • code monkey
  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 10713
  • here on my island the sea says 'hello'
    • View Profile
    • http://www.glbasic.com
Re: Caanoo support
« Reply #27 on: 2011-Sep-23 »
I'm using the codesourcery toolchain for ARM. I put the settings (as DjWillis told me) to: -mcpu=arm926ej-s -mtune=arm926ej-s

I have firmware version 1.6.1, Linux 2.6.24 Rev 167
Serial 2011.07.13 gp2xV500 000000271

MrTAToad

  • Guest
Re: Caanoo support
« Reply #28 on: 2011-Sep-25 »
What's the 3D like on a Caanoo ?

Offline Kitty Hello

  • code monkey
  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 10713
  • here on my island the sea says 'hello'
    • View Profile
    • http://www.glbasic.com
Re: Caanoo support
« Reply #29 on: 2011-Sep-26 »
Software renderer. Should be quite usefull, though.