BASIC

Author Topic: Request: Setting background color  (Read 12839 times)

MikeHart

  • Guest
Re: Request: Setting background color
« Reply #15 on: 2010-Feb-15 »
You're right. It totally sucks.
I'll make an optional parameter for the clear colour of BLACKSCREEN in a next update, OK?

Thanks. Does BlackScreen  combine DrawRect and UseASBMP or does it do a ClearColor 0,0,0?

Offline Ian Price

  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 4143
  • On the shoulders of giants.
    • View Profile
    • My Apps
Re: Request: Setting background color
« Reply #16 on: 2010-Feb-15 »
Quote
Try on a slow netbook as I do, and you will see.

Surely every GLBasic program is crap on a netbook? From my experience it is anyway.
I came. I saw. I played.

Offline FutureCow

  • HelpEditor
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 680
    • View Profile
Re: Request: Setting background color
« Reply #17 on: 2010-Feb-16 »
You're right. It totally sucks.
I'll make an optional parameter for the clear colour of BLACKSCREEN in a next update, OK?

I'd suggest keeping the language intuitive - if you can add an optional colour then make it a new command like CLEARSCREEN or something. A command with the name "BLACK" in it should not do other colours or else the language becomes confusing.

Offline Ian Price

  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 4143
  • On the shoulders of giants.
    • View Profile
    • My Apps
Re: Request: Setting background color
« Reply #18 on: 2010-Feb-16 »
Surely every GLBasic program is crap on a netbook? From my experience it is anyway.

That's a teaser I can't resist.... ;)

My project is developed for an Atom based board, that's why I develop and/or test/validate on a netbook which happens to have a similar configuration.
There's a bit of 3D going on (one or two objects only) the rest is 2D.  The app shows real time measurement data in a graphical form.  For this type of application, 60 fps is fast enough, the graphics hardware won't  display more than that anyway...
It really works flawlessly; I get my required number of fps and can still reduce processor load to significantly below 10%, so there is still room for future application enhancements.  The acquisition of measurement data is off-loaded to the second core by using Gernot's thread libraray, which for now I only use to handle serial communications.  There's some other use for that thread library in the wings though...

Ocean

TBH I've only tested one program - which worked flawlessly on lesser machines (including Wiz and GP2X), so I couldn't understand why it was crap on a several types of netbooks (including a variety of supposedly shit-hot Samsungs (N110 - N130 or whatever they were)). I really should try my GLBasic games on my son's netbook and see how they perform, as other games work pretty well.

As for the CLEARSCREEN issue - another command would indeed be favourable, if required, rather than BLACKSCREEN.
I came. I saw. I played.

Offline Kitty Hello

  • code monkey
  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 10689
  • here on my island the sea says 'hello'
    • View Profile
    • http://www.glbasic.com
Re: Request: Setting background color
« Reply #19 on: 2010-Feb-16 »
Oh dear. Never touch anything ...


Changing the colour is no problem. It basically just does glClearColor.
But, if I change the name, the old code will no longer be valid. I could make a compiler warning "deprecated, use ... instead".
CLEARSCREEN might be the better name - even for the black screen.

MikeHart

  • Guest
Re: Request: Setting background color
« Reply #20 on: 2010-Feb-16 »
Why not just leave BLACKSCREEN in and add CLEARSCREEN? If that's not possible then I vote for CLEARSCREEN.

Offline Ian Price

  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 4143
  • On the shoulders of giants.
    • View Profile
    • My Apps
Re: Request: Setting background color
« Reply #21 on: 2010-Feb-16 »
CLEARSCREEN RGB(R,G,B) FTW.
I came. I saw. I played.

Offline Quentin

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 915
    • View Profile
Re: Request: Setting background color
« Reply #22 on: 2010-Feb-16 »
CLEARSCREEN sounds good. I never used BLACKSCREEN :)

Offline Moru

  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 1772
    • View Profile
    • Homepage
Re: Request: Setting background color
« Reply #23 on: 2010-Feb-16 »
Since GLBasic does a fresh black screen on every frame I haven't realy seen a use for it except when playing around with lots of USEASBMP. CLEARSCREEN(rgb()) would be nice.

Offline Kitty Hello

  • code monkey
  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 10689
  • here on my island the sea says 'hello'
    • View Profile
    • http://www.glbasic.com
Re: Request: Setting background color
« Reply #24 on: 2010-Feb-17 »
ok, it's clearscreen. And I leave blackscreen for compatibility a few releases still.

Offline FutureCow

  • HelpEditor
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 680
    • View Profile
Re: Request: Setting background color
« Reply #25 on: 2010-Feb-17 »
Woo! I named a GLBasic command!!!  :enc:
 :P

Offline Quentin

  • Prof. Inline
  • *****
  • Posts: 915
    • View Profile
Re: Request: Setting background color
« Reply #26 on: 2010-Feb-18 »
Great, here's your medal :))



[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline FutureCow

  • HelpEditor
  • Prof. Inline
  • ******
  • Posts: 680
    • View Profile
Re: Request: Setting background color
« Reply #27 on: 2010-Feb-18 »
*LOL*  :D

Offline Kitty Hello

  • code monkey
  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 10689
  • here on my island the sea says 'hello'
    • View Profile
    • http://www.glbasic.com
Re: Request: Setting background color
« Reply #28 on: 2010-Feb-18 »
awesome

Offline Schranz0r

  • Premium User :)
  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 5013
  • O Rly?
    • View Profile
Re: Request: Setting background color
« Reply #29 on: 2010-Feb-18 »
NICE! :)
I <3 DGArray's :D

PC:
AMD RYzen 7 1700 @3.9Ghz, 16GB HyperX Fury 2666Mhz Ram, ASUS ROG GTX 1060 STRIX 6GB, Windows 10 Pro 64Bit, MSi Tomahawk B350 Mainboard