Author Topic: PRINT and ALPHAMODE  (Read 1934 times)

MrTAToad

  • Guest
PRINT and ALPHAMODE
« on: 2010-Jan-26 »
I notice that ALPHAMODE doesn't affect the text displayed by PRINT - is it supposed to or not ?

Offline Steinbock

  • Mr. Drawsprite
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
    • Mountainsoft
Re: PRINT and ALPHAMODE
« Reply #1 on: 2010-Jan-27 »
for me it works with ALPHAMODE between 0.0 and 1.0
Time will come. It's just a matter of time...

Offline Moru

  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 1772
    • View Profile
    • Homepage
Re: PRINT and ALPHAMODE
« Reply #2 on: 2010-Jan-27 »
Both negative and positive values works for me but I'm only testing the default font so far.

Offline Steinbock

  • Mr. Drawsprite
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
    • Mountainsoft
Re: PRINT and ALPHAMODE
« Reply #3 on: 2010-Jan-27 »
I've tested my own font and it worked as well.
Time will come. It's just a matter of time...

Offline Kitty Hello

  • code monkey
  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 10689
  • here on my island the sea says 'hello'
    • View Profile
    • http://www.glbasic.com
Re: PRINT and ALPHAMODE
« Reply #4 on: 2010-Jan-27 »
Did you reset the alphamode at some point, maybe?

MrTAToad

  • Guest
Re: PRINT and ALPHAMODE
« Reply #5 on: 2010-Jan-27 »
No - didn't do that.

Its just that are is no difference between -1, 0 and +1

In addition, any value over > 0 is the same as any value < 0

Code: GLBasic [Select]
SETSCREEN 640,480,0

LOADFONT "Media/Smalfont.png",0
SETFONT 0

ALPHAMODE 0.0
PRINT "This is ALPHAMODE 0.0",0,0

ALPHAMODE -1.0
PRINT "This is ALPHAMODE -1.0",0,100

ALPHAMODE 1.0
PRINT "This is ALPHAMODE 1.0",0,200

ALPHAMODE 0.2
DRAWRECT 50,300,64,64,RGB(255,0,0)

ALPHAMODE 0.0
DRAWRECT 50+64,300,64,64,RGB(255,0,0)

ALPHAMODE -0.2
DRAWRECT 50+(64*2),300,64,64,RGB(255,0,0)

SHOWSCREEN
KEYWAIT

If its > -1 and < 1 then it is affected though...

I'm sure that -1.0 used to be duller than 0.0 and 1.0 used to be brighter.


[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: 2010-Jan-27 by MrTAToad »

Offline Moru

  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 1772
    • View Profile
    • Homepage
Re: PRINT and ALPHAMODE
« Reply #6 on: 2010-Jan-27 »
What I understood when I tested ALPHAMODE first time I wanted to use it, close to zero is no color, 1 and -1 is all of the color, the steps inbetween is differently added to the background, one direction is additive, the other interpolated. I haven't tested it much with text though.

Offline Schranz0r

  • Premium User :)
  • Administrator
  • Prof. Inline
  • *******
  • Posts: 5013
  • O Rly?
    • View Profile
Re: PRINT and ALPHAMODE
« Reply #7 on: 2010-Jan-27 »
What I understood when I tested ALPHAMODE first time I wanted to use it, close to zero is no color...

BINGO!  :good:
I <3 DGArray's :D

PC:
AMD RYzen 7 1700 @3.9Ghz, 16GB HyperX Fury 2666Mhz Ram, ASUS ROG GTX 1060 STRIX 6GB, Windows 10 Pro 64Bit, MSi Tomahawk B350 Mainboard