GLBasic forum

Main forum => Beta Tests => Topic started by: ampos on 2010-Sep-13

Title: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: ampos on 2010-Sep-13
Just to show a bit of my work

UPDATE 16-09-2010

This is a very early alpha stage of my KRAKOUT clon. You will be able to play original C=64 graphics and PLUS enhaced ones.

Currently you can press 'C' to change between original C=64 graphics and enhaced ones (in WinCE should be CALENDAR key, and in GP should be "B" key)

Paddle can be moved with mouse (+left button), joystick, cursor keys and touchscreens. Next step YOUR MIND!!! :D

Game will be avaiable on iOS (for iPhone 3G/4G/Ipad) with HD graphics, Windows, Macintosh, Linux, Windows CE (640x480 & 320x240) and GP32x.

Stay tuned.
http://www.ampostata.org/Krakout+/Krakout+.rar (http://www.ampostata.org/Krakout+/Krakout+.rar)

UPDATE 26-09-2010
(http://www.ampostata.org/Krakout+/03.jpg)
(http://www.ampostata.org/Krakout+/04.jpg)

UPDATE 13-09-2010
(http://www.ampostata.org/misc/kr02.jpg)
Paddle shadow and new border (taking from a Star Wars sword!)

12-09-2010
(http://www.ampostata.org/misc/kr01.jpg)
The tiled background is created using polyvector, and scrolls. The inner border shadows are also created using polyvector and alphamode.
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress
Post by: Scott_AW on 2010-Sep-13
Good use of polyvector, that looks rather nice.  But how come the border is 4x the size(pixels) of the floor and ball?
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress
Post by: ampos on 2010-Sep-13
Because it is just the C64 gfx zoomed. I need to find someone to made new gfxs for me.
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress
Post by: Ian Price on 2010-Sep-13
Looking good :)
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress
Post by: matchy on 2010-Sep-13
Cool!  ::)
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress
Post by: kaotiklabs on 2010-Sep-13
Great mate, looking good.
wich are the target platforms? wiz, pc?
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress
Post by: ampos on 2010-Sep-13
Target is iOS, but of course it will be compiled to Win and Mac at least.

Internally it is made to support 320x200, so it will be for wiz, if I found a way to test it.
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress
Post by: Ian Price on 2010-Sep-13
I'll happily test for Wiz if required. I can test on GP2X too. :)
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress
Post by: Neurox on 2010-Sep-13
Internally it is made to support 320x200, so it will be for wiz, if I found a way to test it.

Nice screenshot game.
I've GP2x F100, GP2X F200 and GP2X WIZ.
If you want, I'm happy to testing your game

Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress
Post by: ampos on 2010-Sep-13
UPDATE 13-09-2010
(http://www.ampostata.org/misc/kr02.jpg)
Paddle shadow and new border (taking from a Star Wars sword!)

About Wiz&co: let me first end the game!  :enc:
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress
Post by: Ian Price on 2010-Sep-13
Gorgeous :)

BTW Re: Wiz and co. You mentioned them first! :P
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (download alpha 100914)
Post by: ampos on 2010-Sep-14

UPDATE 14-09-2010

You can download an alpha version and "play" a bit. Use Mouse+button to move paddle.
Press C to change between graphics.
http://www.ampostata.org/Krakout+/Krakout+.rar (http://www.ampostata.org/Krakout+/Krakout+.rar)
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (download alpha 100914)
Post by: Cliff3D on 2010-Sep-14
There's a very minot "wobble" on the leftmost vertical black line in the lower left corner of the border, but mmmm that's looking gorgeous IMO :)
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (download alpha 100914)
Post by: Ian Price on 2010-Sep-14
That's a Kraking :P start. :)
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (download alpha 100914)
Post by: ampos on 2010-Sep-14
Uploaded again with EXEs for WinCE, GP32x and Wiz.

Not tested on any of this units.
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (download alpha 100914)
Post by: Wampus on 2010-Sep-14
Looking forward to playing this one when its complete. Great work ampos.
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (download alpha 100914)
Post by: Ian Price on 2010-Sep-14
Right, I've had a chance to test the Wiz version and it's not good I'm afraid. I know it's very early days, but here's my initial findings (and i know that most of these issues should be easy to iron out or have probably already been sorted).

1. The scrolling background has a chunk (long black bar) missing from it near the top - although this might be hidden if the barrier appeared as it should; it still appears fullsize, like pc version, not scaled to the Wiz's screen.
2. The ball is also too big. Appearing disproportionate to the Wiz's screen (a la barrier).
3. The bat and ball are a tad sluggish - touchscreen control just isn't upto it at the moment. It's not far off, but it's not properly playable yet either.
4. The polyvector scrolling background flickers pretty badly too. It's lovely on pc, but perhaps the Wiz might be better off without it? 

Maybe the large bitmap background images (barriers etc.) are slowing the game down. It would be nice to have an on screen FPS counter, to see how bad the slowdown is.

I've taken a few (very poor photos - I've got to get a new camera soon!). See attached.

I do still look forward to a playable Wiz version.

[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (download alpha 100914)
Post by: ampos on 2010-Sep-15
LOL, you forgot to put the pictures in the rar... :)

Currently I am redoing all the graphics.

C64 screen was 320x200, but pixels were not square, so I am asuming they was like 320x240. I am redoing all the gfx to this new 320x240 aspect.
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (download alpha 100914)
Post by: ampos on 2010-Sep-15
Ok, new version.

-Win: Low Res (aka 320x240) and Hi-Res (aka 960x480)

-WinCE: cool on my iPag, althoug PNG alpha seems to not work.

-GP: just test it. Does PNG alpha (inner shadow) work as in Win-Low, or is strange?

You can move now with every at your hand  :nana: mouse, cursor, joystick, dpad, touchscreen...

Graphics are scaled to full-fill the entire screen on any resolution.

Press C, Calendar or B keys to change to C=64 mode.
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (download alpha 100914)
Post by: ampos on 2010-Sep-15
Right, I've had a chance to test the Wiz version and it's not good I'm afraid. I know it's very early days, but here's my initial findings (and i know that most of these issues should be easy to iron out or have probably already been sorted).

1. The scrolling background has a chunk (long black bar) missing from it near the top - although this might be hidden if the barrier appeared as it should; it still appears fullsize, like pc version, not scaled to the Wiz's screen.
2. The ball is also too big. Appearing disproportionate to the Wiz's screen (a la barrier).
3. The bat and ball are a tad sluggish - touchscreen control just isn't upto it at the moment. It's not far off, but it's not properly playable yet either.
4. The polyvector scrolling background flickers pretty badly too. It's lovely on pc, but perhaps the Wiz might be better off without it? 

Maybe the large bitmap background images (barriers etc.) are slowing the game down. It would be nice to have an on screen FPS counter, to see how bad the slowdown is.

I've taken a few (very poor photos - I've got to get a new camera soon!). See attached.

I do still look forward to a playable Wiz version.

1, 2 & 3: it was because shoebox does not make directories, and I stored all the graphics with the same name but in 320/ and 960/ for different resolutions. In my iPaq it crashed, so I copied the /media dir, so it worked. Now I checked the Win-Low and LOL, everything was HUGE.

4: changed background, test if it works fine now. Of course it will have background off/quiet/follow/random on all the versions.
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (download alpha 100914)
Post by: Ian Price on 2010-Sep-15
The new WIZ version is much better and fixes pretty much every problem. It's still slower than it should be, but not unplayablly slow. The shadows around the barrier aren't transparent - they are showing as solid black (see attached image - sorry, I don't know how I could have left the old images out (D'oh!!) - if you still need them I can post them later.).

Control is much better with DPAD than touchscreen, but touchscreen doesn't feel right for this type of game anyway. The C64 mode looks good,  can you add a keypress delay between switching between update and original graphics though. Pressing B swaps the images too fast and it can take a few attempts to get the desired graphics set.

All in all, a significant improvement. :)

[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (download alpha 100914)
Post by: ampos on 2010-Sep-15
Yeah, WinCE has the same problem with shadows.

I will remove it in little versions, and perhaps add an option for enhaced effects (background color and normal shadows).

How is now the backgropund pattern scroll? Nicer?
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (download alpha 100914)
Post by: Ian Price on 2010-Sep-15
The scroll is much smoother than the previous version (probably because the game is running faster anyway), but there is a slightly odd regular banding issue (on the new background only) - kind of like every 32 pixels there is an odd horizontal disparity between the background image. It's not like the banding moves - if so, I'd suspect an image problem, but it appears to be due to the Wiz. However, my Wiz's battery is flat (I'm running it via USB charge from my pc), so that could explain it. Maybe it's the size of the dots/squares within the image, creating an optical illusion. In fact you can see this in the images above.

The C64 version appears to run a tad faster and doesn't seem to have this banding graphical quirk.
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (download alpha 100914)
Post by: Neurox on 2010-Sep-15
Hi,
I've tested with Gamepark console:

GP2X F100, firmware 3.0.0
Very slow and poor movements.

GP2X F200, firmware 4.1.1
Slow movements.

With to F100 and F200 for exit, I've pressed the volume key and GP2X is locked and I had to reset. But I think it's a GLBasic problem.

GP2X WIZ , firmware 1.2.1
Good movements and much betters ever.

Neurox

Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (download alpha 100914)
Post by: ampos on 2010-Sep-15
Added fps counter and I have removed the shadows, and get stable 30 fps on WinCE.

Test on your plattaform.

Now on Mac too!  :-*
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (download alpha 100914)
Post by: Neurox on 2010-Sep-15
Now on Mac too!  :-*

I have an iMac with 10.6 and  Krakout run very well.
But I've added the extension ".App" otherwise the system don't see :(
And I've modify the attributes with "chmod x WIZ_parallax.app / Contents / MacOS / MacOSX"  :help:

Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (now on Mac too!)
Post by: ampos on 2010-Sep-16
No idea what are you talking about this Mac stuff...  :nana:
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (now on Mac too!)
Post by: ampos on 2010-Sep-16
New version, with random bricks on screen.

I lost 1 frame on iPaq in PLUS mode.
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with bricks!)
Post by: Ian Price on 2010-Sep-17
Tested the Wiz and pc versions tonight - both Wiz and pc play at or around 29FPS (pc is rock solid steady at 29FPS), so pretty contant and consistant. The banding appears to be gone from the Wiz - it looks like you've enlarged the background pattern and looks much better as a result - either that or the blocks hide the problem. I'd go as far as to say that the Wiz version actually looks better than the pc version - it's much more vibrant.

Shame the game isn't truly playable yet. :)
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with bricks!)
Post by: ampos on 2010-Sep-17
Strange I set SETLIMIT 30 and it is at 29  :P on my PC too.

About the pattern, I remade it, just this. And it has to be redone again, has a little "banding" still.
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with bricks!)
Post by: Ian Price on 2010-Sep-17
Sometimes I get 59FPS when I set limit to 60FPS, but if I use a limit of 61, I get an FPS of 61! One of those things. If you couldn't see the value, you wouldn't know that it wasn't running at what you wanted. No biggie :)
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (download alpha 100914)
Post by: ampos on 2010-Sep-22
Now on Mac too!  :-*

I have an iMac with 10.6 and  Krakout run very well.
But I've added the extension ".App" otherwise the system don't see :(
And I've modify the attributes with "chmod x WIZ_parallax.app / Contents / MacOS / MacOSX"  :help:

I just got my very first Mac.

HOW THE HELL DO I CHANGE THE NAME TO A FILE/DIR?
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with bricks!)
Post by: Bursar on 2010-Sep-22
Right click and... oh, wait...  :nana:
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with bricks!)
Post by: Kitty Hello on 2010-Sep-22
left click and enter - pitfall!
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with bricks!)
Post by: Ian Price on 2010-Sep-22
The Mac is pretty unintuitive, isn't it? :(
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with bricks!)
Post by: ampos on 2010-Sep-22
The Mac is pretty unintuitive, isn't it? :(

Why the hell they didnt add it to the context menu displayed when pressing right mouse button?????

(Yes, Mac can read 2 buttons mices)
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with bricks!)
Post by: Kitty Hello on 2010-Sep-22
They don't want people to do anything that could harm the OS. I wonder they allow to save files at all...
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: ampos on 2010-Sep-23
New version, with breakable bricks.

Also added version for WinCE at 640x480. I left the border shadows, I dont know if they work or dont.
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (download alpha 100914)
Post by: ampos on 2010-Sep-26
Now on Mac too!  :-*

I have an iMac with 10.6 and  Krakout run very well.
But I've added the extension ".App" otherwise the system don't see :(
And I've modify the attributes with "chmod x WIZ_parallax.app / Contents / MacOS / MacOSX"  :help:

How can i run the Mac app? All i got is the gamecwithoyt gfxs...
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: Ian Price on 2010-Sep-26
 The game .app folder contains the original Media folder (with all your gfx, sfx etc. in), but these contents are not copied into the XCODE Media folder. Make sure you put all your gfx, sfx etc. into the XCODE Media folder.
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: ampos on 2010-Dec-22
I have uploaded a new version. This time only for Windows, sorry guys!
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: matchy on 2010-Dec-22
Played the first level and then it crashed. Seems a little slower than the original and it's missing the baddies and pickups. Where's the music from?
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: ampos on 2010-Dec-22
It is still in development!

I saw it crashing after the first level, dont know why (on the glb running one it didnt), but at 3:00am I didnt want to check it anymore.

Musics titles are on the bottom of the screen, but they are from multiple sources, Press Play On Tape and remix.kwed.org.
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: matchy on 2010-Dec-22
Cool. I listen to slayradio. So artists don't mind using their songs at remix.kwed.org, say for iPhone ?
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: ampos on 2010-Dec-22
I have contacted with some of them. Others have un-working emails and google can not even find them. I will put a text on the game like "do you know this guy?"
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: matchy on 2010-Dec-22
I have contacted with some of them. Others have un-working emails and google can not even find them. I will put a text on the game like "do you know this guy?"

So that would mean that the game will be free?
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: ampos on 2010-Dec-22
No, it will be a universal app and not free. Musicians will get royalties.

The problem would be the original composer and not the remixed ones, but I got permision from Ben Daglish. He will get more royalties than the others.

If I ever finish it, of course...  :rtfm:
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: matchy on 2010-Dec-22
What sort of royalities? How do you establish that (fixed/ongoing) generally?

Are you sure that remixes can be used without permission?
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: ampos on 2010-Dec-22
I have permission from the original and some of the remix.

I offer them a % and accepted. Some even dontvwant money, just credits.
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: ampos on 2010-Dec-23
DOWNLOAD THE NEW EXE IN THIS POST FOR A FIXED ONE!

Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: Moebius on 2010-Dec-28
The version in your latest doesn't work for me.  All I get is a screen with no bricks, followed by "level complete", followed by another screen with no bricks, then another "level complete", etc......
Also, no media, in fact nothing other than the exe was in there!
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: ampos on 2010-Dec-28
You have to use the full download plus the new exe, a fixed one.
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: Moebius on 2010-Dec-29
Oh okay.
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: ampos on 2010-Dec-30
I have my game running on the iPhone, Retina resolution.

If you run my game, you see the background as a colorfull scrolling thing.

The problem is that polyvector (a single one) reduces the framerate by half.

So, I have 2 options:

1.- Remove the scroll and moving-color-rainbow and play at 60 fps

2.- keep it and run at 30 fps.

Help please.
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: Moebius on 2010-Dec-30
The game wouldn't be the same without the coloured, scrolling background...  Very few people on Earth imho could distinguish between 60 and 30 FPS, and I'd keep it if I were you, unless you have something that could match it in some way for a lower cost...
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: ampos on 2010-Dec-30
I compiled for iphone at 30fps... and it is enough smooth. As the game is being programmed directly multiresolution, I am making it also multi-target. On computers it will be 60, on iphone 30, and in android... Gernot?
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: ampos on 2011-Feb-16
You can download the latest beta at www.ampostata.org/Krakout+/beta.rar

It has exes for Win, Mac, Linux AND iPHONE (Universal App)!

(http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_kcmTyq9trFE/TU_dov6n0wI/AAAAAAAAAJA/5WNos_9GD2o/s1600/cabeza%252B.jpg)And I am still seeking betatesters!
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: mentalthink on 2011-May-18
Ampos, try a make a 3d cube, and texturize it, moving the texture (tileable)
Makes a 3D word of the bottom of the screen and in the front the make 2D, perhaps runs to 60 FPS.

Kinds Regards,
Iván J.

Ps:If you don´t have any idea of 3D, use Blender, at the start always appear a Cube. This can use for this fact.
Don´t forget intall the Glbasic plugin exporter.

Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: ampos on 2011-May-18
de que hablas?
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: OscarBraindeaD on 2011-May-19
de que hablas?

Supongo que se refiere a que hagas el fondo scrollable usando un cubo y desplazando su textura, en vez de usar un sprite
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: mentalthink on 2011-May-19
pues Ampos de lo que comentas del fondo, prueba con un cubo a ver si te tira más, y con una textura "sin fin", haces que recorra esa caja.

Vamos... eso es lo que he entendido que te pasa.

DEu
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: Ian Price on 2011-Sep-22
Rise from your grave!!!

Did you ever finish this ampos?
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: erico on 2011-Sep-22
Rise from your grave!!!

 :D oh, it must be those old impossible-to-understand samples from some animal ancient game?


[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: Ian Price on 2011-Sep-22
Yep, that'll be from Altered Beast.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ypGxYM3MHqY
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: ampos on 2011-Sep-22
No, I lost the momentum back ago, the gameplay was very advanced, with a few monster out there.

Also I am unable to find the game rights owner. The guy who is publishing Gremlim games on the AppStore with a Spectrum emulator said me he had the rights, but after a few months of talk I was tired of him and I requested something to prove me "he had the rights", and then, no more words from him. Was him trying to cheate me, and talking with the real owner to get them before me? I really don't know.

Anyway, I will probably re-start the game from scracth, as it was my first program in a long time and made some serious workflow mistakes.
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: Ian Price on 2011-Sep-22
The guy on the AppStore IS the legal owner of Gremlin and has recently released Bounder. I really don't think you'll get the rights now, as he is in the process of reproducing a lot of the old Gremlin games for iOS.

I wouldn't start again if I were you, unless you want a big fuss from Gremlin lawyers.

A shame for sure :(
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: ampos on 2011-Sep-22
But he is only on Spectrum.

What irritates me was that he was very kind to talk and get an agreement. He was always "in 1 week I will sent you an agreement", for 3 months.

Then I asked something to prove me that he was really the owner of Krakout/Gremlim in C64 version for mobile... No more emails from him.

(He is not the Gremlim owner, but has the rights for Gremlims games for iOS, or so he said)
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: Ian Price on 2011-Sep-22
I don't know if it was Ian Stewart you had contact with, but he holds ALL the rights to Gremlin Graphics games - http://www.metro.co.uk/tech/games/870140-gremlin-graphics-presents-bounder-s-world-and-the-return-of-super-cars
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: ampos on 2011-Sep-22
No, it wasn't.

I emailed all the companies he said he was in and got none response. It was very hard to find him.

I'm going to email him right now.

LOL, his website has no contact information:

http://urbanscan.co.uk/
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: Ian Price on 2011-Sep-22
I can tell you now that your version of Krakout would be better than anything he outputs on iOS if Bounder's World  is anything to go by. It's totally unplayable rubbish. I can't believe I paid for that garbage (big fan of the original game).
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: ampos on 2011-Sep-22
Does the app any contact email?
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: Ian Price on 2011-Sep-22
There's Twitter and FaceBook contact, but no email.
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: ampos on 2011-Sep-22
Give me both, please.
Title: Re: KRAKOUT: work in progress (with BREAKABLE bricks!)
Post by: Ian Price on 2011-Sep-22
Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/pages/Gremlin-Presents/235833553114693
Twitter - http://twitter.com/#!/GremlinPresents