Android help - new device and .APK brings up error message.

Previous topic - Next topic

Ian Price

I've just got my first proper Android device (ignoring OUYA and GameStick) and have created a small dictionary program for a dyslexic work colleague.

No matter what I do I can't get the .APK to run. It installs, but when run I get an error message - "Unfortunately, dictionary has stopped."

I can install and run the GameStick version of AquaVenture on the device, but this dictionary.apk fails. I've tried cutting the program right back to a white screen saying "Hello" and it still fails.

I've tried signed and unsigned .APKs and ensured that Dev options are on etc. without much luck

Now as I'm new to proper Android I'm sure I've made a mistake somewhere along the line. Can someone test the attached on their device or give an idea why it might be failing.

Many thanks  :nw:
I came. I saw. I played.

erico

Hello Ian, I get that error once in a while too.
If it is similar to mine, then here is a quick dirty solution:

Backup your project folder, delete the contents of the ANDROID folder on your dictionary project, copy the contents of the ANDROID compilation folder from a working project (ye aquaventure) to your dictionary one, recompile for android and give it a go.

Your problem might be related to some missing files, the icons for example, of your java version.
Either way, if what I said works (as it does here), then it may be easier for you to figure the problem.

...though I think it must be related to icon files.

Also, look at the compiling window just to make sure you don´t see things like debuf-certificate-expired.

I can send you an apk for testing just to make sure, or you head to the android resolution thread I did a few months ago and give a try on that APK as it should work perfectly. That way you rule out phone configs. 

Ian Price

I came. I saw. I played.

Ian Price

Hmmm. Nope. That didn't work.