Version control for GLBasic (SVN)

Previous topic - Next topic

Moru

I'm no expert on SVN, just started using it at work earlier this year. But I will try to get you started and point you in the right direction where to find more information.

Why do you want SVN?

Because you want to keep track of what you do, if you want to do a big change to see if it works better you just make a new branch of the code or if you did something that totally broke your game, just reload the old code or compare the differences between the old code and the new. Every change is saved so you can always go back to any point in time that you have "committed".

Or the obvious thing, when you are more than one developer of a game you realy need this to keep organized. You can even work on the same file at the same time, you just need to run update and check the differences, then SVN should be able to patch together the two files with both your changes. (I haven't tried this though, only read about it)

How to use SVN

1. First off download these two things. If in doubt download the 32 bit Windows binaries. Install them with everything on.

SVN server and client
SVN shell for easy use (use windows explorer instead of command line :-)

2. Then decide on a safe place to store your database of changes. I usually create a folder called "svn" in the root of C:\. Inside of this I make one folder for each project I want versioned.

3. Right-click the folder you just created and select "TortoiseSVN->Create Repository Here". Repository is where SVN saves the database of changes you make. This is where your project realy will live. This folder contains everything, to remove a repository this folder is all you need to delete.