Android Crashes

Previous topic - Next topic

Omadan

Keep it up SpaceFractal, seriously man, change your nick to SpaceMachine :)

Its good to see you on this. I will definately continue using GLBasic. Once you have this working I'd like to have a word with you Space, if that's okay with you ofcourse :)

Thanks
Top Arcade Apps - Best game for mobiles and computers

http://www.toparcadeapps.com

spacefractal

#16
im also not sure why a normal variable crashed it, while returning 1 or 0 manually diddent crash it? But at least it got fixed it, even its was quite strange. Its was nothing in the Java part here about the NETWEBEND crash.

Anyway with little help from Ouya forum, im also got fixed the Ouya SDK issues seen in some of the past AE versions (which im first have seen those issues yesterday for some reasons). Im do need testing the purchases on that console still working after those changes. But here all changes is in Java, so no changes required in the gbas part.

Next part of AE could been fun if im could get the official joy commands got working with Ouya as well, even ist quite easy to uses GameController code, so glbasic can get official Ouya support (as well Mojo and GameStick support). Mojo was the main reason for the sdk upgrade.

PS. Im would still thanks HeadKaze for helping me for iOS64bit :-). Without him, im would not get iOS64 working at all.
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation - The beagle Jam - Cave Heroes 2023 - https://spacefractal.itch.io/

spacefractal

Will take few days before release. I'm also plans to remove unknown game controller support, but will add a polling function instead, so remapping can been done easier.
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation - The beagle Jam - Cave Heroes 2023 - https://spacefractal.itch.io/

spacefractal

#18
im have dedicated not remove the original remap support for game controllers.

But instead im have just addd analoge support (intepreted as digital for now), so they can been used with KEY() command for unknown controllers.

So in the next version of AE, if you support remap using KEY() command, then you can support most joypads out here by adding a remap feature in your game and save them. Howover some buttons might have two values.

PS. Most ouya issues is fixed again, but need to get purchase part works again. After that I'm release a new version.
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation - The beagle Jam - Cave Heroes 2023 - https://spacefractal.itch.io/

spacefractal

#19
Ouya Inapp Shop seens all working again.. phew. There was a lots of small changes in the Java part.

Soon im upload Android Extras v2.7 with those changes:

- NETWEBEND is fixed again.
- KEY() can also uses with most analoge unknown controllers (but only threated them as digital).
- Fixes to the Ouya shop issues (which should have been done a LONG time ago, sorry about that. Im only did seen that few days agao).
- Im have NOT changed to the GameController Api.

But on normal Android Devices im recommered to uses KEY() as well, and also dont forget to let user remap the keys (they can been different from controller to controller). The GameController Api was more designed to run on Ouya, Mojo, GameStick and such console with known controllers.
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation - The beagle Jam - Cave Heroes 2023 - https://spacefractal.itch.io/

MrPlow

Looking forward to new version! :good:
Comp:
Speccy-48k, Speccy-128k, Amigas, PCs

MrPlow

Also, any chance of a fix for the Amazon Kindle Hibernation pause?

I have tried

AUTOPAUSE TRUE

but that doesn't fix it and Amazon are reject apps due to this feature.

G.
Comp:
Speccy-48k, Speccy-128k, Amigas, PCs

spacefractal

#22
im have oversigt this one. Im have taken a look what happens...... So Just checked.

The music stops correctly in Greedy Mouse with v2.7 when im press on the power button to hibernation it. So its seen its works correctly here.

Make sure to stop the sound and music in your GLB_ON_PAUSE function. Android Extras does NOT do that automatic, other than send the pause event.

PS. Im uses AUTOPAUSE TRUE and ALLOWESCAPE FALSE.
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation - The beagle Jam - Cave Heroes 2023 - https://spacefractal.itch.io/

MrPlow

Just tried the new AE 2.7 with Autopause true and allowescape false (which I usually use) but the Hibernation issue is still occuring and I am pausing music in GLB_ON_PAUSE event

Any ideas what might be wrong? I also started with a new Android distribute folder to be sure.
Comp:
Speccy-48k, Speccy-128k, Amigas, PCs

spacefractal

strange, since its indeeded works here as intended by stopping the music manually.

im do uses a function like this to stop the music:

Code (glbasic) Select

FUNCTION SoundMusicStop:
LOCAL musicplay=FALSE
IF device$="a" OR device$="ak" // are we on android (PLATFORMINFO$ can eventuelly been used).
MUSIC.stop()
ELSE
STOPMUSIC
ENDIF
ENDFUNCTION


Im also uses HUSH after stopping the music as well.

Im does NOT uses HIBERNATE command at all. That might prevent music to stopping eventuelly. Im can do nothing without a project or logcat.
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation - The beagle Jam - Cave Heroes 2023 - https://spacefractal.itch.io/

MrPlow

Hi SF

I think I might have mislead you ... I do not use HIBERNATE command either...

Hibernate is just the state when pressing the power button on Nexus 7 for instance - my screen goes black but I can still here game playing so GLB_ON_PAUSE does not fire at all

However on some older versions of GLB and AE this did work.

Here is my on pause...which works when used with a button event etc.

Actually - is there a thing is KEY() or menu event for the Hibernate power button?? That might fix it

Code (glbasic) Select
SUB GLB_ON_PAUSE:
appause = 1
music.stop()
IF ISMUSICPLAYING()=TRUE THEN STOPMUSIC
pauseUnPauseAppTime(TRUE)
ENDFUNCTION
Comp:
Speccy-48k, Speccy-128k, Amigas, PCs

spacefractal

#26
you mightbeen right. sometimes its fails. even its invoke the pause in the java. So im checking out what happens. Im thinks its dye conflicting with the ads loading.
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation - The beagle Jam - Cave Heroes 2023 - https://spacefractal.itch.io/

MrPlow

Cool thanks SF!

On the other idea is there a key() or menu press event for the Hibernate key?
Comp:
Speccy-48k, Speccy-128k, Amigas, PCs

spacefractal

I'm dont thinks.

The issue happens when ads is loaded then it's skips the pause call as its should not and also not resume correct. If you not using ads then there is no issue. I'm looks on that today.
Genius.Greedy Mouse - Karma Miwa - Spot Race - CatchOut - PowerUp Elevation - The beagle Jam - Cave Heroes 2023 - https://spacefractal.itch.io/

MrPlow

Thanks SF,

I did notice that ads do fire a pause event but don't resume properly and then when I start my main loop I have to re-enable my timers.

G
Comp:
Speccy-48k, Speccy-128k, Amigas, PCs