TCP on iPhone device seems strange

Previous topic - Next topic

spicypixel

I have written a PC app which is my server (configured port forwarding etc..) and an iPhone app which when testing in GLB works perfectly for both local LAN IP and Remote IP (handled by port forwarding). Both of these work and messages can be sent successfully to the PC server.

However...

Now that I have the GLB app running on my iPhone neither on Wifi or 3GS can I get it to work. In fact on Wifi it doesn't connect but on 3G regardless of both IP and PORT entered it always connects (when in fact it isn't it just says it has??).

Anyone have any ideas? This was hoping to be my first commercial app so I'm happy to privately post source and the Win exe server to show it working and if they can give some indication as to why it won't work on the device I'd be most grateful. It does seem I'm asking for loads of help but I'm new to GLB and given that the app and server work on the PC I'm a little befuddled.

=)
http://www.spicypixel.net | http://www.facebook.com/SpicyPixel.NET

Comps Owned - ZX.81, ZX.48K, ZX.128K+2, Vic20, C64, Atari-ST, A500.600.1200, PC, Apple Mini-Mac.

Kitty Hello

Oh no!
Please view the debug log if it says something special when the error happens. Also make sure you >>STDOUT NETGETLASTERROR$()+"\n"<< after every command to see where and why it fails.

spicypixel

It works when I run the client on the PC just not on the iPhone so I'm not sure how I'd be able to get any particular ERRORS. I will add a PRINT statement within my code to view NETGETLASTERROR$() and also the status of the SOCK_INIT() variable and such. I didn't realise there was a sleep command so in addition to the timeout value within the TCP connection I'm now adding the sleep command for timeout plus half-second to allow for multi-tasking if that is the problem.

Code (glbasic) Select

socket = SOCK_TCPCONNECT(ip_address$, ip_port, timeout)
SLEEP (timeout + 500)

Next test with additional debugging.... =)